Cable system configuration

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-31-15, 12:40 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cable system configuration

Hello guys,

I'm having trouble with my ISP on Brazil and I'm curious about the cable configuration on my building.

There is a high packet loss when "everyone is home" and the ISP insists to tell me there is nothing wrong on their side, that it must be something inside the building (ISP techs aren't really smart or helpful here, they literally don't help or install the cables and splits).


This thread http://www.doityourself.com/forum/ho...plitter.html#b make me believe the cables are misconfigured here.

I live on a small building which there is only 4 apartments, here is our current configuration:

ISP -> 3-way -> Apartment 01
-> Apartment 02
-> 2-way -> TV Apartment 03
-> 2-way -> TV Apartment 03
-> TAP -> TV Apartment 04
-> Cable Modem Apartment 04


As you can see, the ISP cable is divided to 3 where 1 of the outputs is divided on apartment 03 which is divided again on apartment 03 and finally it came to my apartment and is divided again.

I have no idea why the ISP provided a TAP instead of a 2-way to my apartment since it s a "dead-end", probably a mistake?

I'm supposing that we must be using like this:

ISP -> 3-way -> Apartment 01
-> Apartment 02
-> TAP -> TV Apartment 03
-> TAP -> TV Apartment 03
-> 2-way -> TV Apartment 04
-> Cable Modem Apartment 04


Does it makes sense?

My downstream is around -5 dBmV and my upstream is around 50 dBmV (SNR 37 dB), my modem is a motorola sb5100 which is supposed to work with these levels: http://www.motorola.com/mdirect/manu...0DataSheet.pdf

But since there is a high packet loss happening, it must be the ISP or this config (everything is fine with my laptop and my router, I've checked).
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-31-15, 12:54 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Seems like forum trimmed my spaces, here is the "graph": https://gist.github.com/sobrinho/4c3a84a9c5e8b0de6a71
 
  #3  
Old 01-31-15, 01:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,513
Received 1,030 Votes on 956 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

In your case the building should actually have a single feed in from the street and four taps.... one to each apartment. Then in the apartment a splitter would send one connection to the router and one to your TV(s).
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: