Can regular stereo speakers be hooked up to RC jacks?

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-11-15, 02:33 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can regular stereo speakers be hooked up to RC jacks?

I have a tv that the sound has gone out on and would like to try hooking up some small stereo speakers that I have to see if it is just the tv speaker or the audio all together. Problem is that the speaker have the type connection where you just strip the speaker wire and connect it to the clamps and the tv has the red and white RC jacks. for audio output. Is there a way to transition between the 2? What happens if you just strip one end of the RC cable and clamp it to the speaker? Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-11-15, 02:43 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,986
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Connect the output from the set top box (aka cable box) to your home stereo. It will also work with the output from a DVD player. You'll never want to use TV speakers again.
 
  #3  
Old 07-11-15, 02:44 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 21,119
Received 3 Votes on 3 Posts
If the TV has stereo speakers built in and both went out at once, it's unlikely it's the speakers. More likely something in the audio circuits or tuner has crapped out.

One of the Pro's will have a better answer, but 2 speakers don't just crap out at once.
 
  #4  
Old 07-11-15, 08:08 PM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Gunguy45,

Agreewith what you are saying completely. Not likely both speakers would crap out at same time. What I was thinking, or maybe hoping was that it was something in the circuit that fed the speakers and that there would be a chance that it would still be sending and audio output to the RC jacks. Do you think that is unlikely as well?

As for hooking up to stereo, that is not an option. Was just looking for way to hook a couple of external speakers up to see if that would work. What are you thoughts on that?
 
  #5  
Old 07-11-15, 08:20 PM
lawrosa's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Galivants Ferry SC USA
Posts: 18,145
Received 60 Votes on 52 Posts
whats make model of TV?

Yes hack off RCA jack end and try it...

Any other outputs like digital RCA or optical? These have separate board I believe
 
  #6  
Old 07-12-15, 05:34 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
If the jacks are labeled "Line Out" or "Audio Out" you will need an amplifier between the jacks and the speakers. If you have some in the house, you can also try a pair of (amplified) computer speakers with an adapter that changes their 3.5mm plug to two RCA plugs.
 
  #7  
Old 07-22-15, 10:46 AM
K
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 648
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry it took so long to respond but tied up with family medical issues. Anyway the model of the TV is Sanyo DP42841
 
  #8  
Old 07-22-15, 06:43 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,537
Received 1,036 Votes on 960 Posts
I looked thru the entire manual. There is not a way to disable the speakers which means there is probably an internal audio amplifier problem. The diagram below from your TV's owner manual shows you need to connect those jacks to an external amplifier and then to a pair of speakers.

Name:  sanyo.jpg
Views: 169
Size:  32.9 KB
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: