HDMI Splitter


  #1  
Old 10-23-16, 06:25 PM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 2,012
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
HDMI Splitter

I have 2 HDMI inputs on my TV. I use one for cable TV and I would like to split the other to use 2 other inputs at different times. To be specific, I want to connect an Amazon Fire Stick and my computer. Would a splitter, 2 inputs - 1 output be enough or do I need a 2 X 1 switch? Your expert opinion will be appreciated.........Thanks.
 
  #2  
Old 10-23-16, 09:24 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
You need a two-input (or more) switch with a single output. Of course your computer will need to have an HDMI output.
 
  #3  
Old 10-24-16, 12:15 AM
H
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree you need a switch with two inputs and one output. You can best buy them online I bought mine, doing a similar set up to yours, at Amazon.com. It wasn't the best but it wasn't the worst either so carefully read the reviews of the customers. Probably New Egg or Tiger Direct might have what you want. I also suggest Mono Price too as they have great cables and their prices are real decent too. One tip look for an auto switching switch as there were lights on the front of my switch that were kind of blinding and the remote that came with it never worked but it did auto switch.

I still have the auto HDMI switch I bought from Amazon and it still works although I added electrical tape to the front to block the lights. You probably will need at least one HDMI cable to connect the tv to the switch. Best not to buy real cheap as far as cables go I found out from experience so a mid priced about 6 foot cable should work fine. If you get a shorter cable I have found that it is hard to position your devices. I wish you good luck with your project. Have a nice day!
 
  #4  
Old 10-24-16, 05:03 AM
johnam's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 2,012
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
So it looks like you're both suggesting a switch. Since I won't be using both devices at the same time, why wouldn't a 2 input, 1 output cable work? hedgeclippers, you said that I would need a cable to connect the TV to the switch. The TV is connected to HDMI 1 and I will be connecting the switch or splitter cable to HDMI 2.
 
  #5  
Old 10-24-16, 06:56 AM
C
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3,138
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
AFAIK, the so-called splitters are really just switches that attempt to auto-detect which input is active. After all, you have to select one input or the other in some fashion; there is no way to passively combine the signals. So either you can have a manual selector, a remote controlled selector, or you can let the device choose the input that has an active signal on it. Problem with the auto detect units, if you have both of the source devices turned on, it can have trouble reading your mind and picking the correct signal to pass to the output.
 
  #6  
Old 10-24-16, 09:27 AM
E
Member
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 40
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My husband bought this exact one to use a few different game systems on our TV and he really likes it, it might help you: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: