Acquired non-US smart tv, anyone have any experiences with transformers?"

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-06-17, 08:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 12
Acquired non-US smart tv, anyone have any experiences with transformers?"

Scored the deal of a lifetime. Was installing some wires for a wealthy client remodeling his home (has a HUGE estate close to Kualoa, cost of Oahu) and he had a bunch of "old" TV's he was trying to get rid of.

I've been working for this guy for a few years now and I guess he felt in the holiday spirit and he gifted me a 4k 55 inch LED TV. Only issue he told me is, it's a 220V single voltage unit and I'm going to need a transformer. Anyone know of a good brand?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-06-17, 09:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 50,495
Likes Received: 103
You would have to post the make and the full model number for more help.
 
  #3  
Old 01-06-17, 10:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 12
My apologies could've sworn I added it in! It's a....LG 55UH850V Smart 3D 4k Ultra HD HDR 55" LED TV.
 
  #4  
Old 01-06-17, 10:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 373
Likes Received: 2
There is no simple answer. You need to do an internet search on "List of digital television deployments by country". If I interpret your location correctly, signals there are ATSC.
 
  #5  
Old 01-07-17, 06:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Near Buffalo, NY
Posts: 4,239
Power is compatible without a transformer. According to the spec: 100~240Vac 50-60Hz. All you should need to do is swap out the power cable.

The cable and sat tuning capability is moot. All providers use set top boxes that plug in to HDMI ports, and this TV has three of them. There is also WIFI and LAN for streaming. To receive over-the-air broadcasts you could get a BluRay player with a tuner.
 

Last edited by Rick Johnston; 01-08-17 at 06:07 AM.
  #6  
Old 01-07-17, 10:19 AM
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada (near The Motor City)
Posts: 626
Did you get the manual with the TV? I would download one on-line if I didn't.

Are you planning on using it as a "TV" or a monitor?

If the guy was really in "The Holiday Spirit" he would have given you a TV that worked .....

(typical rich guy, getting you to take away his garbage for free)
 
  #7  
Old 01-09-17, 07:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 3
First, I can't overstate how jealous I am. Anyways, try looking up ACUPWR. For something nice like that you don't want something cheap.

I've relocated to Moscow from the US and had a bunch of nice appliances (coffee maker, fridge, etc) that I wanted to bring with me. Bought a bunch of little transformers and nearly all have given out within a year or two. I currently have an ACUPWR for my fridge i got a few months ago but it's built heavier, if that's worth anything. Also, I've noticed it tends to run cooler than the other transformers.

I have three more cheap black ones running rn, and one is already giving me problems (won't start and it's louder than usual), so I'll probably replace it with an ACUPWR one once it dies on me. Or at least something else American made (haven't found another solid company).
 
  #8  
Old 01-09-17, 07:19 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Russia
Posts: 3
Actually just read rest of the messages. if it's 100-240v you actually have nothing to worry about. It's weird your guy would have used a transformer for that.
 
  #9  
Old 01-11-17, 03:00 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2016
Location: USA
Posts: 156
On the link you posted, there is a LIVE CHAT. Ask them.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes