Acquired non-US smart tv, anyone have any experiences with transformers?"

Old 01-06-17, 08:54 AM
R
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Acquired non-US smart tv, anyone have any experiences with transformers?"

Scored the deal of a lifetime. Was installing some wires for a wealthy client remodeling his home (has a HUGE estate close to Kualoa, cost of Oahu) and he had a bunch of "old" TV's he was trying to get rid of.

I've been working for this guy for a few years now and I guess he felt in the holiday spirit and he gifted me a 4k 55 inch LED TV. Only issue he told me is, it's a 220V single voltage unit and I'm going to need a transformer. Anyone know of a good brand?

Old 01-06-17, 09:09 AM
Group Moderator
Received 3,947 Upvotes on 3,540 Posts
You would have to post the make and the full model number for more help.

Old 01-06-17, 10:08 AM
R
My apologies could've sworn I added it in! It's a....LG 55UH850V Smart 3D 4k Ultra HD HDR 55" LED TV.

Old 01-06-17, 10:17 AM
T
Received 197 Upvotes on 173 Posts
There is no simple answer. You need to do an internet search on "List of digital television deployments by country". If I interpret your location correctly, signals there are ATSC.

Old 01-07-17, 06:51 AM
R
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Power is compatible without a transformer. According to the spec: 100~240Vac 50-60Hz. All you should need to do is swap out the power cable.

The cable and sat tuning capability is moot. All providers use set top boxes that plug in to HDMI ports, and this TV has three of them. There is also WIFI and LAN for streaming. To receive over-the-air broadcasts you could get a BluRay player with a tuner.

Last edited by Rick Johnston; 01-08-17 at 06:07 AM.
Old 01-07-17, 10:19 AM
Received 24 Upvotes on 19 Posts
Did you get the manual with the TV? I would download one on-line if I didn't.

Are you planning on using it as a "TV" or a monitor?

If the guy was really in "The Holiday Spirit" he would have given you a TV that worked .....