DirecTV Cables

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-25-17, 07:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 91
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
DirecTV Cables

Are the cables for DTV the same as for cable tv?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-26-17, 03:02 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA - N.E.Tn
Posts: 46,039
Received 118 Votes on 105 Posts
Yes, they are the same. I used to have DIRECTV and when I switched to cable [to get hi speed internet package] they used all of my original cables.
 
  #3  
Old 01-26-17, 03:19 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,967
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I think the foam layering of the new cables is much thicker, but the basic operation of the cable is the same. They ran all new cables when they installed my new satellite to all 4 locations and it looks larger, although I know the fittings are the same as regular RG6. Could be because there are no cobwebs and dust on it Mostly in basement.
 
  #4  
Old 01-26-17, 12:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 91
Received 1 Vote on 1 Post
Excellent, thank you for the info.
 
  #5  
Old 01-27-17, 06:11 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,757
Received 184 Votes on 171 Posts
One thing DirecTV checks for is that you have RG-6 (not the thinner old school RG-59) coax and that it has a solid copper core. They do not like to use copper plated steel core (cheaper) RG-6 cabling. I think it is because with satellite TV the coax is sending power up to the dish so it must do double duty.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: