Samsung Hospitality Television Tip

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-25-17, 10:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post Samsung Hospitality Television Tip

A few months ago I bought a new Samsung Television to replace an old Toshiba that died on me. Not sure why the new set lost channels for a while and went from over the air mode to cable mode but it did.

When I bought the set I wasn't aware at the time that it was a hospitality set and not a consumer set as I bought it online. With a hospitality set which could be used in a hotel or hospital once the channels are set that is it you can't change anything or so I thought.

If you ever get stuck with a Samsung hospitality set and want to change things here is what I found out from Samsung to do. 1. Turn the set on 2. Press mute 3. Punch the following code 119. 4. Press the enter key which is located under the Home key in the middle of the Arrow keys.

All of the above need to be done in rapid succession in order to get to the menu which will allow you to change the order of channels. There is a tiny bit more to it however I have already forgotten some of the steps. By playing with the arrow keys though you can then get the set to work right.

Everything is fine now with the set and it got in the same channels as before so I am satisfied for now and everything else is functioning on the set quite well. I also thought that Samsung's technician was very helpful in getting my set back in order when I called her.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-28-17, 08:35 PM
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 97
Received 3 Votes on 2 Posts
I'm a bit obsessive about TV picture quality, and hotel TVs are always set incorrectly, and their menus are locked.

Will this trick allow me to unlock a hotel Samsung TV's menus to adjust the picture, without causing any issues the hotel folks might not like? And then maybe put it back into locked hotel mode?
 
  #3  
Old 05-28-17, 08:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 344 Votes on 322 Posts
Have you actually seen the menu locked ?
I'm thinking that the remotes they use won't get you there. You may need to use an actual Samsung remote.

I'm guessing the sub buttons on the TV are inoperative although with many TV's you need the correct remote from the start to access the menu.

(You can tell I visit hotels often)
 
  #4  
Old 05-30-17, 11:11 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 2,446
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
RocketjSquirrel you bring up an interesting question I believe that Peter(Pjmax) is in part right. I would think that most hotels have cable television for their guests to enjoy unless they are way out to no where. So if we assume that you would visit only hotels that have cable television then the remote provided probably will not work since it is for cable television. However some but certainly not all universal remotes may possibly be able to access the televisions sub menus. If you wanted to try it though buy a more well known brand of universal remote and one with many different features.

As I mentioned above you would have to turn the television off after set up and then back on. The hotel probably wouldn't notice any changes to the set unless they were dramatic changes that were made. After all changes are made you are right the set goes back to locked mode. Note of disclaimer though I am not advising changes to hotel televisions without permission, also even the very best universal remote may not work with a Samsung Hospitality television.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: