subwoofer

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-15-17, 01:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 217
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
subwoofer

I have a Dish receiver to a 30 year old TV. It works good. I have a subwoofer for
a music system totally separate.
I decided to hook up the sub to the TV while it is still connected to the stereo also( my sub has both speaker connects and coax connects) but I dont have both the music amp/speakers and the tv on at the same time. Question 1..do you think that is not a good idea..??
Also I have standard coax red and whites from the Dish receiver to the TV and then a separate red and white from the TV audio out to the subwoofer line in. So the TV speakers handle the mid and tweeter and the sub does the bass. It seems to work well.
What do you think of that??? Is there a better way to hook up the cables??
just looking for info...thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-15-17, 01:49 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 517
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think that a better way is to connect the audio output from the dish receiver directly to the amp & all speakers to the amp as well. I do the same thing with FIOS. That way all the audio, including the TV goes through the amp. I lower the volume to zero on the TV since it's no longer needed. There is no way that the sound from the TV can compare with the amp.
 
  #3  
Old 11-15-17, 10:31 PM
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: netherlands
Posts: 18
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Have done that once i my car. The standard speakers to the radio and an active sub to the tulip of the radio. Yes why not, but also if used high quality speakers it's better sound quality to use them instead. You said something of the sub having 2 inputs, so why not use one for tv and one for stereo. That way you can put on the stereo for like movies. Guess with daily tv stuff you don't really need the stereo amplifier.

*edit: if you still want better sound, you could buy an equalizer for little. For myself, i have a pioneer receiver which tends to sound a bit 'clinical/empty'. I added an equalizer and it sounds less that way. In the past it was so, you could just use the tape inout from your receiver/amplifier to connect an equalizer. It was working in realtime that way.
 

Last edited by knightrider200; 11-15-17 at 10:58 PM.
  #4  
Old 11-16-17, 05:36 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 517
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I want all sound through the amp, even everyday mundane TV. Music is played there too. You mentioned an equalizer. I just moved & happened to come across a Technics equalizer. I can't remember when I last used it. Maybe I'll try it again.
 
  #5  
Old 12-24-17, 06:37 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,441
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
It will probably be easier to run all the audio directly into your amp. This includes from the set top box that any 30 year old TV set needs nowadays to receive free TV channels from an antenna.

An exception is if your amp does not have enough inputs. THen you would need to keep your existing setup with some things feeding audio into the TV set. From here you have a choice: (2a) run the TV red/white audio output (at least a little better than an earphone jack) connected to one input of the amp and the subwoofer is connected to the amp, or (2b) make no changes whatsoever leaving the TV red/white output connected to the subwoofer (and, if desired, a second subwoofer connected to the amp when you are not using the TV set).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes