portable boom box power supply

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-04-18, 10:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 211
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
portable boom box power supply

hello

i was given a boom-box which appears to be in good condition, its power supply is either 10 D-cell batteries or a "pin type plug" at the rear which reads the typical 100-240V ac.

i have no plug, is it acceptable to bypass the plug and wire an alternate plug for AC use?
i am assuming something is built into the circuitry and the AC power does not need to be stepped down via a transformer prior to entering the unit? just want to make sure.

i never understood why there was never some some simple standard for AC plugs used in portable units, they all seem to have a different plug?

thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-04-18, 11:18 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,457
Received 215 Votes on 204 Posts
You could bypass the plug and receptacle but for a few dollars a power cord would be so much more effective. These are the two most popular. Places like Target, Best Buy, Walmart have them for a couple of dollars.

Name:  ac1.jpg
Views: 109
Size:  18.0 KB
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-18, 11:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 211
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes the the old typical standard plugs
unfortunately this plug is the single circular pin type

so if direct AC power is supplied its the built in circuitry that will do any converting?
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-18, 11:45 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 51,457
Received 215 Votes on 204 Posts
Since it says "100-240v" it has an internal switching power supply.
The power jack probably goes right into the convertor.
 
  #5  
Old 02-04-18, 12:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 211
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ill most likely just tap into the input with an old cut power cord, its just a backup unit to keep in a garage or workshop.
im reasonably comfortable with basic electronics, just wanted to make sure before i taped in direct Ac power.

thanks for the input
 
  #6  
Old 02-07-18, 06:03 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,441
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Votes on 9 Posts
Caution: I don't know of any single circular connections on the back of boom boxes, computers, TV sets, etc. that accept raw 120 to 240 volt power. Did you ever have the original power cord for this boom box? Note that if the original cord that plugged into the boom box had some exposed metal at the end that you could touch then it did not deliver the full 120 etc. volts AC.

A single (circular) hole perhaps 1/4 inch more or less in the boom box body with a single (round) pin recessed and visible in the middle is not a 120 to 240 volt connection.

Meanwhile if the lettering "120-240 volts" was engraved on the boom box cabinet (body) next to the connection point and there may have been exposed metal prongs there, then that would suggest that the full 120 volts would be fed in there.
 
  #7  
Old 02-07-18, 06:17 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 22,757
Received 135 Votes on 127 Posts
Pretty sure you could get a universal AC adapter power cord off ebay that would work.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes