Cable set-top box + surge protector + HDM port

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-08-18, 05:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cable set-top box + surge protector + HDM port

Strange sequence of events: turned off surge protector overnight; in the morning the cable set-top box had died. Verizon agreed to replace it, but of course I will lose everything I had recorded. TV HDM port was fine. I turned off some other things in the apartment in a last-ditch attempt to revive the set-top box, and then could no longer tune to the HDMI input. Verizon rep said TV was not recognizing it.

Is the problem with the surge protectors? Other suggestions? Thanks.
 

Last edited by ellenmw; 04-08-18 at 06:06 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-08-18, 05:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
When you turned the surge protector off... the Verizon box also shutoff... correct ?
When you turned the surge protector back on.... the Verizon box did not restart... correct ?

If those are both correct.... the box just failed.
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-18, 05:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Box was already off when I turned off the surge protector.
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-18, 05:31 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
Then that would mean the Verizon box failed earlier... on its own.
Sounds like a natural failure.
 
  #5  
Old 04-08-18, 06:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Seemed funny that HDMI port failed right afterward . . . ?
 
  #6  
Old 04-09-18, 02:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
You tried to manually go to that HDMI input and couldn't or you went to that input and the TV said "HDMI source not available" ? If the Verizon box had failed the TV should say no input available.
 
  #7  
Old 04-09-18, 02:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Seems to be the surge protector. According to the combined analyses of Samsung TV tech support, a local Samsung TV repair service, Verizon tech support and a physical check of the ROKU device at Best Buy, the surge protector blew out the set-top box and the ROKU cable.
 
  #8  
Old 04-09-18, 02:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,676
Received 340 Votes on 318 Posts
The exact chain of incidents wasn't clear.

The surge protector would not blow out any device. Usually if a surge protector goes bad it will either just be dead or trip a circuit breaker.

We get this problem every couple of months or so. The problem usually turns out to be a difference of grounds. It usually gets blamed on a bad cable ground. It usually turns out it was the TV that received some type of "surge". The cable TV wire, the cable box, the Roku box and the TV should all be at ground potential but something shorts and usually it's the TV.

When I troubleshoot a problem like that..... I disconnect all interconnecting cables and check from each device to ground. Something that should be at ground.... isn't.
 
  #9  
Old 04-09-18, 02:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"I disconnect all interconnecting cables and check from each device to ground. Something that should be at ground.... isn't."

Interesting . . . This is obviously not my area of expertise (!), so two questions:

- when you say it isn't at ground, what does that mean, and how could I or someone from building staff check?

- assistant at Best Buy advised changing over both surge protectors involved. From what you say, that's not relevant - is replacing them required and/or advisable?

Thanks.
 
  #10  
Old 04-09-18, 03:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 132
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
"The exact chain of incidents wasn't clear."

FWIW:

1. Turned off surge protector at night.
2. Turned surge protector back on first thing in the morning.
3. A few hours later, tried to turn on cable box. Couldn't be turned on by me or by Verizon sending signal.
4. Turned off a connected surge protector and turned back on.
5. Couldn't tune to HDMI input on Samsung or Verizon remote.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: