Need help finding rotary switch for Entertainment Unit please

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-26-18, 10:50 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help finding rotary switch for Entertainment Unit please

I need to find a replacement switch for this unit, I bought this unit about 10 years ago from JCPenneys. I’ve searched this forum but not finding a like switch answer.

can someone help?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-26-18, 10:55 AM
XSleeper's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 23,140
Received 195 Votes on 181 Posts
It would help to know what your "unit" is.
 
  #3  
Old 04-26-18, 11:08 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have no idea what a style or model number is

How do I post pics here?
I have no idea on style or model numbers.Have the switch out
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-18, 11:10 AM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 20,825
Received 199 Votes on 184 Posts
Here are instructions on how to attach pictures: https://www.doityourself.com/forum/e...-pictures.html

You can also tell us the brand, make and model numbers.
 
  #5  
Old 04-26-18, 11:12 AM
Shadeladie's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: PA - USA
Posts: 4,309
Received 40 Votes on 32 Posts
We just had an upgrade done, so that attachment icon will be in a different place than the pic shows.
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-18, 11:26 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pictures of switch

Pictures of the switch are attached .....I think
 
Attached Images     
  #7  
Old 04-26-18, 04:04 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
That is a self contained dimmer board.
I'm guessing for some kind of lights in an entertainment center ?

I'm 99.9% sure you won't find a replacement for it.
It could be repaired if that's where the problem is.

What is the problem you are having ?
 
  #8  
Old 04-27-18, 09:07 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Light switch for dimmable lights in entertainment unit

Thanks for the response. It's been awhile but I think it stopped clicking to off position, became hard to turn then stopped turning lights on.

I hope this sounds fixable,
 
  #9  
Old 04-27-18, 09:22 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 52,706
Received 345 Votes on 323 Posts
There should be two wires on that board. I guess you cut them off ??
You can connect those two wires and the lights should work.

See if there is a number on the brass part of the control. It may look like 50k or 10k, etc.
 
  #10  
Old 04-27-18, 10:03 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
He probably did cut the wires to get it out. I'll get someone else to see if they can see a number.

Thanks PJmax, I'll get back to you later
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: