Troubleshooting OTA Tower-to-Antenna Digital TV service. Any Ideas?

Old 05-21-20, 01:38 PM
H
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Troubleshooting OTA Tower-to-Antenna Digital TV service. Any Ideas?

I need assistance troubleshooting OTA Tower-to-Antenna Digital TV service.

Background on me:
I've been an 'IT Guy' for over 20 years. So, I understand things from a technical standpoint, to a certain degree. I'm just not an electrician....though I do full network installs, and have run cable quite a bit in that line of work.

The Situation:
At my parents' house (i.e. so I'm free to do basically whatever I need to in troubleshooting or whatever), the OTA TV reception has been touch-n-go on some channels for a long time. So, recently, we decided to replace the attic-mounted antenna (which I think has been in place since they built the place in like 2004) with a new one.

I got them this one from Amazon...
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DNJZ58M

I connected it, and mounted the new antenna in what seemed like a better place in the attic that had a much clearer and unobstructed view toward where the majority of the towers are located.

Then we checked and it appeared as though all of the channels that were coming in OK before (i.e. with the old antenna) we're still coming in, but there was no change in reception for the ones that have always been problematic.

No big deal. Even if the new antenna didn't actually provide an improvement, at least it's all new equipment, and it should last a while longer.

BONK!
A couple days later, suddenly a whole bunch of channels weren't working anymore. :|

No idea what could have caused that to happen, but I set out to troubleshoot...

I got a new coax cable, splitter, and signal booster (from Walmart) to replace all three of those components that have also been in use the whole time since 2004.

However, once I put all of that in place, nothing changed.