Visio vbr120 Blu Ray player not playing blu rays.

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-13-20, 04:17 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Visio vbr120 Blu Ray player not playing blu rays.

It plays DVD's though. These blu rays play elsewhere fine. I didn't find anything in the settings to fix it. What's the usual cause? Can it be something physical? Are the physical components that read DVD's and blu rays different?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-13-20, 04:44 PM
C
Member
Join Date: Oct 2018
Posts: 81
Received 6 Votes on 5 Posts
They contain lasers to read the disks. I had the DVD laser die in my blu-ray player. It may be repairable if you can find the part. They didn't have it to fix my player.
 
  #3  
Old 09-13-20, 05:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 58,446
Received 1,021 Votes on 947 Posts
Does it show it as playing on the display screen. IE: elapsed time is running but no picture ?
Do you hear the disc spinning at startup ?

Is it connected to the internet ?
If not..... verify BD Live is turned off.
  • BD Live is a feature found on most Blu-ray discs which connects to the internet in order to provide content such as the latest trailers. In many cases the disc may wait to load until the online content has finished downloading, so if the Blu-ray player has an internet connection but cannot access the film studio's server or the network speed is slow, the disc may take longer to play.

    To rule out BD Live as the cause, navigate to Settings > Network > BD Live, and set to Prohibit. This will prevent discs from accessing the internet. On older players, you may have to press Menu > Setup > Network Setup > BD Live.
 
  #4  
Old 09-13-20, 06:02 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks, yeah, no . Turned that off. No indication of disc having been read. Just says "no disc". Dvd no prob . I reset all settings to and tried again
 
  #5  
Old 09-13-20, 06:11 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
looking through the manual:

"Region codes
Blu-ray Discs and DVDs have region codes to help prevent
illegal distribution of discs. If the discís region code does
not match your playerís region code, the disc will not play.
The discís region code is displayed on the disc or disc
packaging. You can only play Blu-ray Discs that have a
region code of A and you can only play DVDs that have a
region code of 1 or ALL."

hmm...
 
  #6  
Old 09-13-20, 10:34 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 176
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well I think I ruled that out playing my blu rays on another player I have with the same regional icon "A". So IDK. Anyone?
 
  #7  
Old 09-14-20, 08:36 AM
P
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 23,401
Received 586 Votes on 540 Posts
Blu-Ray took DVD to the next level. Technology had reached the limits of what could be done because of the wavelength of the laser light so they switched to the blue end of the spectrum who's wavelength is smaller. This allowed the dots & dashes (1's and zeros) to be smaller and each row of information to be closer together. This requires much greater precision above what a CD or DVD requires. Even the slightest mis-alignment of the laser, it's positioning mechanism can render it unable to read Blu-Ray disks.

 
juntjoo voted this post useful.
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: