Synchronized radio


  #1  
Old 12-02-22, 06:11 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 572
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Synchronized radio

I have a Sport Sync radio Model SR-404 that is SUPPOSED to allow me to watch a football game and listen to it on radio. If I use a regular radio the sound is never in line with the TV. I do this because I want to listen to the home town broadcast because I really like listening to Merle Reese and Mike Quick. The sync radio was working fine until this year. The radio has positive (+) and negative (-) settings depending on which way I need to adjust the sound. However, I can no longer set it to the right setting because the negative adjustment doesn't work anymore. Does anyone know how I can fix that? The manufacturer, Scanner Master Corp., has a website (sportsyncradio.com) but when I go on there I go nowhere. They don't give a phone number and when I sent an email I got a message that it is a bad address. The 90-day limited warranty ran out about two years ago. The radio was made in China which I'm sure is a big problem.
Thank you, Rich

 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-02-22 at 07:24 PM.
  #2  
Old 12-02-22, 09:04 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: US
Posts: 1,049
Received 141 Upvotes on 123 Posts
Found an online image of the radio that was relatively clear. Appears to not be a membrane switch, so there may be hope.

If you are up to disassembling the radio to get to the switch under the pushbutton, get some DeOxit (DN5S-2N is the smallest spray can), give the switch a shot of it and exercise the switch repeatedly to work it into the switch. I recommend removing the case entirely since many chemicals can ruin the finish on plastic. Give it several hours to dry, then reassemble and test.

40 years ago a recording studio engineer recommended Cramolin (the name back then) to me and I think it is great!

Cleaned many switch and relay contacts with it, also antenna connectors. Removes oxidation, cleans and lubricates. Back then there was red to clean and blue to protect.

Let us know what you do and how it turns out. Might help someone in the future.
 
PJmax voted this post useful.
  #3  
Old 12-02-22, 07:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
Caig and Cramolin. I still have and use red and blue.
De-ox-it still an excellent contact cleaner.
Since I'm still in pro sound I still carry and use deoxit wipes.
Remember Blue Stuff (techspray)

Like this old man said..... crack that baby open and lets look inside. Post pics. We''ll help.
How to insert pictures.

 
  #4  
Old 12-03-22, 03:16 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 572
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Thank you, you guys, for the info. I will look for that stuff today. I'm pretty handy with that type work having retired from a maintenance job after 31 years so I am actually looking forward to tackling it. What's the worse could happen, the radio doesn't work? Have a great one.
 
  #5  
Old 12-03-22, 01:17 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 572
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Hi again, you guys. This is what I have inside my radio. The green gadget is what's behind the Delay buttons which I'm having trouble with. Should I take that yellow plate off to see what's behind that? I sprayed the green plate but nothing happened. Thanks again.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-03-22 at 01:35 PM. Reason: labeled pic
  #6  
Old 12-03-22, 01:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
That board mounted there is the digital delay processor. No moving parts = no spray.
The green box is the switch board on the other side.
The white oval is the connection between boards.
The red box is the display area. Don't remove those four screws.
Remove the ones in the blue circle.
There may be some other items holding the board like side switch caps.

I have a feeling you're going to see something like this for the switches....
 
  #7  
Old 12-03-22, 04:16 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 572
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
It's a Scanner Master Model SR-404
 
  #8  
Old 12-03-22, 04:28 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 572
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Sorry to be such a bother but here is what's on the other side after removing the screws you told me to.

This is what it looks like after removing the screws you told me to.
 
  #9  
Old 12-03-22, 05:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
You are not a bother. This is what we do.
Those are called tactile switches. They are soldered to the board.
With a soldering iron they are easy to replace.
I have drawers of them as there are hundreds of different styles and sizes.

If you have contact cleaner. Soak a Q tip with the spray. Then touch the Q tip to the round part of the switch. The idea is to get one drop into the switch. Operate the switch and see if that helps.

Tactile switches
 
  #10  
Old 12-03-22, 06:03 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 572
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I* did as you said with the contact cleaner and the Q-tip but after putting it back together it didn't change. I did notice that when I touch the (+) side of the delay switch the amount of seconds goes up and then when I touch the (-) side of the delay switch the amount of seconds goes down to zero but not any farther. That's my problem. The radio broadcast is several seconds BEHIND the TV broadcast and my delay won't go down to that. I am going soak the switches overnight and see if that does anything. I'll write back but it'll be tomorrow. Thanks again.
 
  #11  
Old 12-03-22, 07:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
I thought the down button didn't work at all.
It doesn't sound like you have switch problem.

That radio doesn't go under 0 seconds..... only up to +60 seconds.
Explained in owners manual under "delaying the audio" section 3.
Owners manual - pdf
 
  #12  
Old 12-03-22, 07:28 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 572
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
If I leave the switch at zero the radio broadcast is perhaps two seconds behind, meaning I see the play on TV and hear it about two seconds later. If I turn the switch up to 2 I hear the broadcast perhaps four seconds later. So if I can't turn the switch to a negative number I can never have it synchronized. So if the (-) doesn't work why is it on there?
 
  #13  
Old 12-03-22, 07:38 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 71,675
Received 3,332 Upvotes on 2,991 Posts
I've never used one so I don't know how it's supposed to work.
The instructions make it sound like it goes from 0 to +60 seconds.
You'd need the - button if you were stepping up and went too far.

If the problem was the down button.... it wouldn't work at all.
You couldn't tune the stations down either.
 
  #14  
Old 12-04-22, 05:57 AM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 572
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
Thanks, PJ, for all your help. I now understand what the (-) button is for. I USED to be able to sync the radio broadcast with the TV but I don't remember if I ever went under the zero mark on the delay. Obviously I did not so it must be something with the radio people or the TV people. I will continue the way I have been doing it with the 2 second delay. There are some announcers on the TV who I cannot stand so that's not an option. Thanks again and have a wonderful Merry Christmas.
 
  #15  
Old 12-04-22, 06:34 AM
C
Member
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 845
Upvotes: 0
Received 22 Upvotes on 19 Posts
I think the 7-second delay is to allow the broadcaster to bleep language that might get picked up on a hot referee mike, for instance​​​​​​.

You might have thought about this already, but... could you record video on one device, record your preferred audio on another device, then replay the game with both?
 
  #16  
Old 12-04-22, 12:04 PM
E
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: southeast pennsylvania
Posts: 572
Received 6 Upvotes on 6 Posts
I once read that I could do a sync by using a DVR but since I have no clue how to do that I didn't pursue it. So I guess I'm stuck with what I have. Thanks.
 
  #17  
Old 12-09-22, 10:02 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 5,005
Upvotes: 0
Received 245 Upvotes on 225 Posts
Did it ever work correctly?

If the TV station modified its broadcast parameters, like reduce its own 7 or so second delay of the picture (video) compared with what is going on in the stadium then your radio that used to keep up might no longer be able to. The TV station would similarly need a delay so the picture can be blacked out if spectators in the grandstands held up signs with unsavory words.

Zero delay on your radio set means the radio is putting out the actual broadcast, that is, sound (audio) that matches what a radio without the adjustable delay feature is putting out. Negative delay is impossible. The radio (or TV set or DVR) cannot put out sound (or picture) that hss not been broadcast yet

A given model of DVR may or may not have the feature to play back the picture almost as soon as it records the picture, with a small selectable number of seconds of delay to match the sound coming from a radio.
 

Last edited by AllanJ; 12-09-22 at 10:23 AM.
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description: