Architectural Software

Old 07-22-04, 09:56 PM
S
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Architectural Software

I am planning a major addition to my home (about 150k) and am looking for some 3d modeling software that I can layout my current home and then add a 2nd story and a large bonus room. Landscaping would be nice also. I am willing to spend some money but don't need to produce professional architectual drawings. I will still be hiring an architect. I am also very proficeint with software since I am a software consultant for the manufacturing industry. I have reviewed SoftCAD but was looking for other opinions.

Thanks,
SurfCityUSA

Huntington Beach, CA

Sponsored Links
Old 07-26-04, 09:00 AM
SurfCityUSA,

So with all that you said, what are you wanting to do?

If you are wanting some design software, there is cheap stuff available to purchase.

If you are going to hire an architect, which is spendy, then why buy any software at all?

There is no software that is going to tell you all the codes and what is right or wrong - this takes a professional designer or architect. When you hire them, they work with you as a team in designing what you are wanting to acheive - one on one.

So as I asked, what are you wanting to do?

Old 07-28-04, 09:28 AM
S
As I said. I will be hiring an architect to do the actual plans, but I have ideas in my head that I want to play with before get the architect involved. Why would I spend the money to have him give me his "standard" designs that he has done a dozen times in the last year because I don't know what I want? Or why spend the time having him ask me what I like and then revising it many times? They charge by the hour mostly, don't they? I seldom hire contractors of anykind to do work on my home. But when I do, I like to have 90% of his questions answered firm in advance so there are no surprises.