Need some help with Full House Humidifier (HoneyWell HE260A)

Old 01-30-05, 08:59 AM
G
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need some help with Full House Humidifier (HoneyWell HE260A)

Hi,

I am new to humidifiers (and to this wonderful forum), and after giving up on smaller standalone units, I purchased a HoneyWell HE260A model, with the corresponding installation kit.

I have gone through all the installation instructions, as well as instructional video but I still have a few questions which I hope the more experienced folks can help me with.

1) The video shows a nice black plug-in type transformer, like most transformers. The unit came with a raw transformer, without a black box or connector spades - everything is exposed! I returned the unit for a new one, same thing. OK, so clearly this is what it is supposed to be.
How and where do I mount this? I'd hate to have this thing exposed in my basement! Also, no clue which side is the 120V and which is the 24 V.

2) Some people mention not needing to install the included sail switch. I have a highboy type furnace, also used as the A/C system in summer. Do I need to install the sail switch?

3) The manual mentions that the humidstat can be mounted against the duct, *or* in the wall of the living area. Well, ideally I would like to have this mounted next to my thermostat in the wall of my dining area. There are no instructions on how to do it that way. In fact, I am looking at the install instructions for duct install, and it requires one to open the hole in the tin, and install it right against the duct, leaving the back of the control exposed to the airflow. I see no 'sensors' on the back of the humidtstat, furthermore, I don't understant how a similar install can be done in the dining room (no way to 'expose' it to the airflow).

4) Anyone installed these tap-in water valves? Does it just puncture the copper? Should I expect problems leaks with this method?

Sorry for all the questions, any help is help at this point!

G