Humidistat (Sorry, LONG POST)

Old 03-09-05, 06:14 AM
P
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Humidistat (Sorry, LONG POST)

Let me start by saying that I am not an HVAC professional. With that said, I want to thank some of the members here who helped me install a Carrier, Totaline humidistat to my existing AprilAire 550 humidifier. Unfortunately, right out of the box, the first Totaline H-stat wouldn’t even power up and the second, although it did power up, would not control the humidifier. It too was defective!

Since my love for Carrier H-Stats quickly faded, I set out on a search for an alternative. What I found is a RiteTemp 8085C; it’s a thermostat but can also control a humidifier in heating mode and can de-humidify in cooling mode.
I know; almost everybody I talked with said RiteTemp Stats are junk, but after hooking it up and using it for a few weeks, I can say it is NOT junk and has worked flawlessly in controlling the temperature and humidity in my home. Plus, RiteTemp includes a 1-800 phone number for technical support, which I used a few times myself. You talk to a real person and I must say they were very helpful!

For starters, the thermostat portion of this unit measures temperature in 0.5 degree increments for a more accurate temperature control. The humidistat portion uses a different method of controlling humidity than the H-stat units that incorporate an outdoor sensor and only supply humidification while the furnace is running.