Honeywell Powered Humidifier

Old 03-18-06, 09:47 PM
D
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Angry Honeywell Powered Humidifier

Hi,

I'm a bit frustrated and looking for a little backup. I just had my furnace replaced last fall with a Trane (XV90) and along with it a Honeywell Powered Humidifier. Our house has always been dry and the old drum humidifier never cut it (or at least that was the feeling before). The new humidifier is worse. I recognize the problem as being the fact that it was installed on the cold air return (despite my questioning them on how wise that would be). After fiddling with the control all winter and suffering the low humidiity levels, I've finally asked that they do something about it and they now want to install it on the warm air supply. The problem is the fact that they want to cut open the brand new coil case to do it. I'm no expert, but that does not sound like a good idea. I looked inside the case (also from Trane) and the side wall where it would go has a double wall, i.e., there is a second sheet metal wall inside that is about 1" from the outside sheetmetal. Plus it is all insulated with aluminum covered fiberglass insulation. It just does not make sense to me to go cutting this thing open.

I have two main questions.

1. Am I right in my concerns of relocating the unit to the coil case?
2. Is having the powered unit any better than a good bypass.

On a related note. After reading some other threads, I saw comments on having an oversized furnace. How would one tell such a thing? I ask since this could explain not only the poor humidity levels/control but also the hot dry feeling we get most every morning (I surmise from the rapid heating @ wake schedule on the thermostat (60 sleep/66 wake).

Thanks in advance! Sorry for the long post.

Dave

Old 03-19-06, 07:45 PM
This Powred unit new with the furnace?