Problem with humidifier transformer?

Old 11-19-06, 03:48 PM
R
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Problem with humidifier transformer?

This is my first time posting, but I think I have gone as far as I can with researching old threads. This is a great resource for the poor and stubborn, so thank you, thank you.

I just moved into a new house this summer and I have an Aprilaire 440 humidifier with no water flowing. I think I have isolated the problem to the transformer, but want to make sure before I go off spending money.

The feed to the transformer reads 120v when the fan is running, zero voltage when the furnace fan is not running, so I believe the furnace is providing power to the transformer. In both situations, my multimeter shows no voltage on the dc side of the transformer (I did switch my multimeter to read dc).

The next thing I did was to take the transformer to my workbench and hook it up to a 120v source. Still no voltage on the dc contacts. Am I correct to assume the transformer should probably be replaced?

If so, does it matter which brand of transformer I buy as a replacement and where I get it? This one has no brand name, but has the number 1284 on the side. It was physically attached through the knockout hole of a junction box.

I saw that I can purchase an Aprilaire 4010 replacement 24v on the Internet for $18. Would that be a good choice?

Thanks for the help.

Old 11-20-06, 01:08 PM
Wink

That 110Vac transformer is still a 24V ac out. You can try and brush the two 24V wires together fast and see if you get a spark.
Id say get the transformer from them then

Old 12-05-06, 09:54 AM
R
Transformer trouble - what am I doing wrong?

OK, I established that the transformer for my Aprilaire 440 was at fault and replaced it. Turned the unit on and everything seemed to be working. Gave myself a big pat on the back and bragged to my wife.