Aprilaire 700 Wiring Problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-14-07, 10:10 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 700 Wiring Problem

How do I wire H & H leads from the Controler to the Humidifier?

I saw two wires hanging out of the Humidifier. I thought I ran a wire from one of the two Humidifier wires to one of the H terminals. I thought I then ran the other wire from the Humidifier to the other H terminal.

I do this and the unit does not work.

I got 24v power to the controler C and W/W1 from the furnace to R & C on the controller.

I show the H & H switch is working when I test for continuity during Test mode. I also tested the fan by wiring the two humidifier wires together and plugging it in. It ran. I then ran two wires from the two humidifier wires then tied them together to test the wires and it worked as well.

From what I am reading on the diagrams, athis is the way.

Can someone give me some advice on solving the problem.

Thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
  #2  
Old 03-14-07, 10:42 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have a jumper in for the outdoor sensor, or using an outdoor sensor?

Is the dial set up for the 700 as well?
 
  #3  
Old 03-15-07, 11:21 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The "Manual Mode" jumper is in the ODT termainals.

What do you mean "do I have the dial for the 700 set up". Are you asking me if I put the sticker on?

I have the two brown wires coming out of the humidifier tying into H & H on the controller, I have 24v and the heat going R & C on the Controller.

When I turn on the heater and it fires, the swich on the controller clicks on, I dialed it to Test, the green light blinks and after about a minute I hear it click off.

I get no fan or water from the humidifier.
The only way I get water and fan is to jump the two brown wires together which isn't right either.
 
  #4  
Old 03-15-07, 04:46 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
On step #3 tell you to set the dial for your unit.

You are the 2nd person who has this issue on thie board. I never been around this type of set up, so I don't know what more I can do.. Ed maybe able to jump in since he has done this model all the time.
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-07, 10:15 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Any help would be appreciated!!
 
  #6  
Old 03-16-07, 05:34 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

The only way I get water and fan is to jump the two brown wires together which isn't right either.

If that works for you then you need a new humidifier Control cause thats what turns the board on inside. Or is it power to the control

From what ever you have on the blower or from the blower to send 24V to the control to say turn it on. Then the control there if calling for R/H will Like jump the two brown wires. You do need a 24V with a 10Va minimum comeing from the furnace. Or other
Check out the paper work you got with the unit. Step 12 shows you the wire lay out there.
 
  #7  
Old 03-19-07, 05:48 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am getting no continuity with H & H when the controller clicks on. It reads that its an open circuit no .0 or .01 nothing. It remains OL.

Is the controller bad?
 
  #8  
Old 03-19-07, 05:56 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

When you check do you have 24V power to the control???Is the blower running?
 
  #9  
Old 03-19-07, 06:07 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yep, I get 24v to the controller from the furnace.
 
  #10  
Old 03-22-07, 09:38 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ed, I have left a reply to your question.

Any more hep would be appreciated.
 
  #11  
Old 03-23-07, 12:05 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

If you have 24V to the control when the blower comes on and the humidistat is ok and calls for humidity then that should turn the 700 on for you on the two brown wires
 
  #12  
Old 03-26-07, 07:13 AM
S
Member
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Post

TO properly wire it first make sure yuo have separate transformer wired to circuit board off hum. terminal and tie white to nutral next two wires from transformer to the controlstat on r for red and c for common next take the two wires from terminals h and h form control stat and wire the humidifier and lastly u must i repeat must either use manual resistor jumper that comes with it or wire in outdoor sensor the wiring for these new humidifiers is diff. due to computer controlboard in contolstat. follwo these instructions and it'll work properly.Gone are the days of simple wiring
 
  #13  
Old 03-26-07, 09:56 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Say that all again please as I don't understand what you just typed.

Here's what I did:

1. C from the Furnace to C on Humidistat
2. R from Hum. terminal to R on Humidistat
3. White thermostat wire from #1 brown wire at humidifier to H on Humidistat
4. Red thermostaat wire from #2 brown wire at humidifier to H on Humidistat
5. Manual Resistor to ODT terminals

6. Plugged humidifer into 110VAC recepticle

Turned furnace on
Turned humidistat to TEST and waited for furnace to call for Heater fan

When heater fan turned on, the Humidistat clicked and the green Filter light began to blink. The humidifier never turned on.

I check and got 24VAC at the humidistat
I jumped the brown wires to see if the humidifier ran and it did
I jumped the Thermosatat wires tired two the two brown wires and it ran too

I am assuming the H terminals act as a switch when the humidisatat solinoid opens. It needed 24VAC to work and the resistor tied into ODT.

I checked for continuity of the H terminals when the Humidistat control solinoid calls for the humidifier to start. I get none.

I am assuming if everything else is up and running and no continuity in the H terminals, the Humidistat is bad.


If the Silkysean can read over what I just did, then advise or clarify what he said in his eaerlier post, it would be much appreciated.

Thanks
 
  #14  
Old 03-26-07, 10:23 AM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

If you have 24V to the control when the blower is on. The humidistat on high
it should run.

When heater fan turned on, the Humidistat clicked and the green Filter light began to blink. The humidifier never turned on.

I think you need a new control you did something to the board in it there
 
  #15  
Old 03-27-07, 09:29 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am getting a new control today. I will install and let you all know how things went.
 
  #16  
Old 03-29-07, 09:45 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
New Controller installed and it works!!

Thanks for all of the insight!!!!!!!!!!!!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: