Help pick the right Humidifier

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-28-07, 05:49 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help pick the right Humidifier

I looking to put a whole house humidifier in my home. My house is about 2000sq ft. I live in the New York city area.


I was looking into getting either the Aprilaire or Honeywell Humidifiers. I'm not sure what is the difference between the Aprilaire 500, Aprilaire 600, Aprilaire 700.

If I pick Aprilaire which model would like this best fits my need also what Honeywell model and is one better then the other?


Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 09-28-07, 06:51 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ps

I also forgot to mention that I have a Carrier Model 58STA/STX furnance
 
  #3  
Old 09-30-07, 06:57 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by rwatson626 View Post
I I'm not sure what is the difference between the Aprilaire 500, Aprilaire 600, Aprilaire 700.

If I pick Aprilaire which model would like this best fits my need also what Honeywell model and is one better then the other?


Thanks
Both 500 and 600 is a by-pass style. 700 has a built in fan, and can only be mounted on the supply side.

I perfer the bypass my self. Less things to go wrong, and it's quiet.

For your large home, you could go with the 500 if your home is newer, otherwise, if older may need to go into the 600.

Both Honeywell and Aprilaire works the same. Just matter of what you want.

I have the Honeywell HE220, be same as the 500.
 
  #4  
Old 10-01-07, 10:27 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks

I think I'm going to go with a Honeywell because I can get it at my local Hardware store.

Just a few more questions if you don't mind.

1.)What is the difference between the Honeywell HE220 and the HE260?

2.)I think I'm going to need alittle help wiring it to my Carrier 58STA/STX?


Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 10-01-07, 10:50 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The HE220 put out about 12 gallons of humidity a day, homes up to about 3,000 sq ft.

The HE260 puts out about 17 gallon a day, and homes about 4,000 sq ft.

I'll be happy to help when you are near the time.

Just let me know what you get with your set up.

Don't forget to get a damper to close off the by-pass in the summer in A/C mode.
 
  #6  
Old 10-01-07, 01:02 PM
Ed Imeduc's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Mountain Williams Missouri
Posts: 18,386
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wink

We use the Aprilaire 700 all the time. Yes you can buy them on line. But they do cost more than the honeywell 260. We do find that the humidifier on the furnace plenum does a much better job.
 
  #7  
Old 10-01-07, 03:45 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ed Imeduc View Post
We do find that the humidifier on the furnace plenum does a much better job.
That is if you went with the Powered unit, HE300 model.

You are almost best to put the by-pass unit on the return itself, to less of a risk of water damage to the furnace if something was put together wrong on the humidifer itself.
 
  #8  
Old 10-04-07, 03:17 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Where to Install

OK I went and got the HE220. I also bought the HE220 installation kit. I think I'm going to return it and just buy what I need seprately becuase the kit cost $75.


The problem I have now is where to install the unit. What I read on the forum and the instuction manual it must go on the supply. I don't have any room to install on the supply side. I'll link some pics and maybe you can let me know where it can go?

Also is it possible to install it on the return, I have room there.

THANKS

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...6/IMG_0323.jpg

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...6/IMG_0319.jpg

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...6/IMG_0318.jpg

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...6/IMG_0317.jpg

http://i119.photobucket.com/albums/o...6/IMG_0316.jpg
 
  #9  
Old 10-04-07, 10:10 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yeah, I didn't buy the kit for mine, I got the other stuff, and all was good.

You got room on the return, and you most installer prefer the bypass on the return.. if there is water problems, it won't damage the furnace below.

here is mine.

 
  #10  
Old 10-09-07, 04:31 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Help Wiring

Hi Jay can you help me wire it up. I'm not sure how to connect it to the transfomer and were on the furance control board.


Thanks
 
  #11  
Old 10-09-07, 06:28 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
no problem. Glad to help you.

Ok, there is a couple of ways you can do it.

On the board you have 120 volts and wire the transformer to the EAC spade on the board. The EAC will power up any time the blower comes on.

Next, you have the the 24volt HUM spade. You can wire right to this with out a transformer, and wire the other wire on the 24 volt com where all the t-stat wire meets.. On this set up, the humidifier will only power up when the burners comes on.

Here is the Manual If you don't have one.. The board info is on page 21 (PDF page 22) on fig 24
 
  #12  
Old 10-09-07, 07:29 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think I read in one of your other post that you can set it up when the blower turns on. If it possible to set it up that way also, Which do you perfer?

Also I see on my furnace control that I have a EAC-1 and a EAC-2 Which Eac should I use.


Thanks
 
  #13  
Old 10-09-07, 07:33 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
no problem. Glad to help you.

Ok, there is a couple of ways you can do it.

On the board you have 120 volts and wire the transformer to the EAC spade on the board. The EAC will power up any time the blower comes on.

Next, you have the the 24volt HUM spade. You can wire right to this with out a transformer, and wire the other wire on the 24 volt com where all the t-stat wire meets.. On this set up, the humidifier will only power up when the burners comes on.

Here is the Manual If you don't have one.. The board info is on page 21 (PDF page 22) on fig 24


I don't understand when you said "Next, you have the the 24volt HUM spade. You can wire right to this " What is this? I guess you are talking about the Humidity control

Thanks
 
  #14  
Old 10-09-07, 07:46 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by rwatson626 View Post
I think I read in one of your other post that you can set it up when the blower turns on. If it possible to set it up that way also, Which do you perfer?
If you have the Honeywell IAQ t-stat, then you can do this.. but I don't think you do.

I'd rather have the humidifer come on with the heat. or any time you switch the fan switch to "ON".

Also I see on my furnace control that I have a EAC-1 and a EAC-2 Which Eac should I use.
EAC 1 is the "hot" side of board, the EAC 2 is the
Nuetral side.

I don't understand when you said "Next, you have the the 24volt HUM spade. You can wire right to this " What is this? I guess you are talking about the Humidity control
the HUM is 24 volts, you do not need to use the transformer on this. It will provide power right to your humidistat, humidifier. This will only power up when there call for heat... Will not come on if you turn the fan ON.
 
  #15  
Old 11-14-07, 09:08 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry

Jay thanks so much for your help! I had to stop this project for a while because some other things came up. I started it back up again. I got the humidifer mounted to the return and installed the bypass duct. I also installed a value for the water instead of using the saddle connector. All i need now is to wire it up. I read the last post you send to me and I'm still not getting. I saw in other post you were able to draw it out and post a pic. do you think you can do it for me.

Thanks
Ron
 
  #16  
Old 11-14-07, 09:31 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Welcome back Ron.

Hope all is well.

I won't be able to do it tonight, but I will draw it out tmrw, and I am going to have to reread the post and see what you got going here..

Talk to you tmrw!
 
  #17  
Old 12-04-07, 06:07 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Jay,


Just want to see if got a chance to draw that up for me.


Thanks
Ron
 
  #18  
Old 12-04-07, 08:36 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Ron,

Please forgive me... I forgot to do the drawing for you..

How do you want me to wire it up?

-use of EAC tap, and use of transformer?(Humidifer comes on any time the blower runs)

-Use of HUM tap, and no transformer?(only comes on when burners are on)
 
  #19  
Old 12-04-07, 12:27 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What ever one is better. If there both the same which ever one you would hook up.


Thanks
 
  #20  
Old 12-04-07, 12:52 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would do the HUM and C on the board.

Here ya go.
 
  #21  
Old 12-04-07, 01:58 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Jay

Jay I draw up my own drawing after looking at yours. Is my drawing correct, because I'm not use to low voltage? And I want to make sure I wire it correctly and not blow my furnace..


Thanks so much.

 
  #22  
Old 12-04-07, 02:49 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No, DO NOT wire like that..

Way you got it drawn out is going to burn out your humidifier, and your board. Also the way you drew it out you used the the humidistat as a load.. not a switch. Humidistat is a switch to breaks the path when there is no need of humidity.




Wire it as I drew it out.

We are going to use the HUM spade on the board for power (24volts), Ignore the EAC.
 
  #23  
Old 12-04-07, 07:33 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jay I'm having a hard time understanding your drawing can you make a legend up for the cabling. What is the red and black cable. Maybe you can write it out... example if this is correct let me know.


From HUMIDIFIER to 24v com
From HUMIDIFIER to HumidStat - Humidstat to HUM



Sorry I'm such a pain just want to get this right!
 
  #24  
Old 12-04-07, 07:58 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok,

Let's see if this helps.

-----

First 2 wires from the t-stat wire.

Red wire on HUM on furnace board.

White wire on C on furnace board.

Other end of t-stat wire.

White wire to one of the black wire on humidifier.

Red wire wired nut to red wire from other red wire on the next group..
------
Next group of t-stat wire.

Red wire wire nut with red wire that came from HUM.

White wire wired nut to black wire from humidifier.

On other end of t-stat wire.

White wire to humidistat.

red wire to other wire on humidistat.
 
  #25  
Old 12-08-07, 06:23 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jay Its Done!!!


Thank You So Much!


Ron
 
  #26  
Old 12-08-07, 06:28 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Glad to hear!

Thanks for the update, and stay warm and have a safe Holiday!
 
  #27  
Old 12-11-07, 09:56 PM
D
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
no problem. Glad to help you.

Ok, there is a couple of ways you can do it.

On the board you have 120 volts and wire the transformer to the EAC spade on the board. The EAC will power up any time the blower comes on.

Next, you have the the 24volt HUM spade. You can wire right to this with out a transformer, and wire the other wire on the 24 volt com where all the t-stat wire meets.. On this set up, the humidifier will only power up when the burners comes on.

Here is the Manual If you don't have one.. The board info is on page 21 (PDF page 22) on fig 24

Jay, in the figure 24, which one is the COM --> SEC-2 or SEC-1?
 
  #28  
Old 12-11-07, 10:07 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by dudu_georgescu View Post
Jay, in the figure 24, which one is the COM --> SEC-2 or SEC-1?

SEC? You mean EAC? if you ment EAC, then EAC-2 is the com.
 
  #29  
Old 12-11-07, 10:25 PM
D
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
SEC? You mean EAC? if you ment EAC, then EAC-2 is the com.
Nope, for the Hum. Which one is the COM (for the HUM)? I do not see it in figure 24.
 
  #30  
Old 12-11-07, 10:39 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Com for hum is going to go on the rows where the t-stat wire hooks on to.. 24v Com is what you want then.
 
  #31  
Old 12-12-07, 05:34 AM
D
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Com for hum is going to go on the rows where the t-stat wire hooks on to.. 24v Com is what you want then.
Got it Jay. It was too small for my eyes

My question to you: in figure 24, there are two terminals: SEC-1 and SEC-2. They have an explanatory note: (TRANSFORMER 24-VAC CONNECTIONS). What are they for?
 

Last edited by dudu_georgescu; 12-12-07 at 05:36 AM. Reason: (Additional question)
  #32  
Old 12-12-07, 06:21 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
SEC is for where the transformer hooks up for the board itself.
 
  #33  
Old 12-12-07, 02:59 PM
D
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
SEC is for where the transformer hooks up for the board itself.
Hi Jay. And what do you connect to the transformer? The Humidistat (like for instance for continuous power)?
 
  #34  
Old 12-12-07, 03:20 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks Jay.

I wired my HE260 according to your directions on other threads and everything is working fine. thanks for your help.
Happy Holidays. Rick
 
  #35  
Old 12-12-07, 03:29 PM
R
Member
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hey dudu_georgescu, i just wired my honeywell 260 and works fine. this is what i learned from the posts. one wire from the transformer connects to a wire of teh humidstat. the other wire of the humidstat connects to a wire of teh humidifier. the other wire of the humidifier connects to the other wire of teh transformer. if you read this and draw it out it should look like a circle with the humidstat acting like a switch between the transformer and humidifier. this info is good only if you have these three components and no sail switch or whatever. hope it helps.. rick
 
  #36  
Old 12-12-07, 06:02 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by dudu_georgescu View Post
Hi Jay. And what do you connect to the transformer? The Humidistat (like for instance for continuous power)?
Wire like on this drawing below. Make HUM your R on the transfromer.

 
  #37  
Old 12-12-07, 07:29 PM
D
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Same furnace, different humidifier (Aprilaire 700A)

Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Wire like on this drawing below. Make HUM your R on the transfromer.
Hi Jay,

Actually, why I do have the same type of furnace (well, almost) I am trying to install an Aprilaire 700a. I have in front of me the installation template, and there are two connections which I do not know how to make:

The automatic digital humidifer control has 10 connectors:

R C A B ODT W/G Cf H


- The H (two connections) go to the brown wires of the humifier (powered unit)

- Cf goes to Common 24 V (located on the 24-V Thermostat terminals

- W/G goes to Hum

- ODT (two connections) will be linked with the outdoor sensor

- A and B remain unconnected

- R and C go to the 24 VAC transformer which is provided with the humidifier.

Now what I do not know is where to connect the 24 VAC transformer which is provided with the humidifier Of course, 120V. But where? On the furnace? SEC-1 and SEC-2 ?

There is a mention in regards to connecting the 24 VAC transformer in the installation template: IMPORTANT: DO NOT WIRE TRANSFORMER INTO THE FURNACE BLOWER CIRCUIT

Pls help. I really do not know where to connect the inputs to the 24 VAC transformer which is provided with the Aprilaire 700 A humidifier
 

Last edited by dudu_georgescu; 12-12-07 at 07:30 PM. Reason: cause I can't spell
  #38  
Old 12-12-07, 07:41 PM
D
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also in the manual:

Step 11: Power Source for Humidifier Control - Terminals R and C

Wire external 24 VAC transformer into a constant power source other than the furnace blower circuit. The transformer can be powered off the 120 VAC line at the junction box before it enters the furnace. Connect the 24 volt side of the transformer to the "R" and "C" terminals on the Humidifier Control.


What is a junction box
 
  #39  
Old 12-12-07, 08:20 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by dudu_georgescu View Post
Actually, why I do have the same type of furnace (well, almost)
What make and model #?


- The H (two connections) go to the brown wires of the humifier (powered unit)
Correct.

- Cf goes to Common 24 V (located on the 24-V Thermostat terminals
C on the board.

- W/G goes to Hum
Where are you seeing this? Should be going to W on board.

- ODT (two connections) will be linked with the outdoor sensor
Correct.


-
R and C go to the 24 VAC transformer which is provided with the humidifier.

Now what I do not know is where to connect the 24 VAC transformer which is provided with the humidifier Of course, 120V. But where? On the furnace? SEC-1 and SEC-2 ?
No, not SEC.



Pls help. I really do not know where to connect the inputs to the 24 VAC transformer which is provided with the Aprilaire 700 A humidifier


What is a junction box
Should be a metal box on the side of the furnace where the power from the house's power line is tied to the furnace's wire.

I"ll wait till you post back your model of the furnace.
 
  #40  
Old 12-13-07, 07:25 AM
D
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It is a Carrier 58 MSA

But that info I am not getting from the furnace manual (which I also have, and its electrical wiring looks very much the same like figure 24 in the online manual which you have linked to), but rather from the Aprilaire 700A automatic digital humidifier control book (which came with the humidifier).

There are four ways in which you can wire terminals W/G and Cf (which belong to the 700A automatic digital humidifier control)according to the control's manual:

a) using furnace accessory terminals to detect furnace operation:

- W/G connects to "HUM"
- Cf connects to Common

b) using furnace terminals to detect furnace blower operation:

- W/G connects to "W" on the furnace terminal strip
- Cf connects to COMMON on the furnace terminal strip

c) operating the humidifier with continuous fan operation:

- W/G connects to "G" on the furnace terminal strip
- Cf connects to COMMON on the furnace terminal strip

d) heat pump wiring (not my case, won't use this one for sure)

- W/G connects to "G" on the heat pump terminal strip
- Cf connects to COMMON on the furnace terminal strip

Apparently, W/G can be connected to either "Hum", "W" or "G" depending on when you want the humidifier to start operating.

In all cases R and C must be powered on at all times by being connected to the 24 VAC transformer provided with the Aprilaire 700A.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: