Honeywell humidifier HE260A solenoid valve

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-06-07, 01:05 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell humidifier HE260A solenoid valve

Hello:

The solenoid (32001639-002) on my 1-year old Honeywell Humidifier HE260A appears to be malfunctioning. I can hear something clicking when I turn the humidity control ON, even the valve is hot on the outside when is ON. However, it doesn't seem to allow water to flow from the inlet side (saddle valve works with no problems) to the outlet side (feed to the pad).

Can I disassemble it and clean it somehow, or should I just spend at least $60 and buy a new one for a brand new humidifier?

Thank you in advance,
John
 
  #2  
Old 11-06-07, 06:29 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is the water valve turned on?

Undo the water line fitting at the solenoid valve, to maek sure the water is going to it. if you do have water going to it, then look inside, you will see a screen inside, remove and clean if needed.
 
  #3  
Old 11-07-07, 05:41 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thank you. the problem is that water is going into it, but water is not coming out of it. I cleaned the little screen inside as you suggested, but with no result.
 
  #4  
Old 11-07-07, 08:05 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also, I am not sure of the whole wiring setup even though it worked last year. I have the following:

From 24V transformer side (pin 1), hot wire (red) goes to one solenoid wire. its white goes to the other solenoid wire but is not connected on the transformer side.

From same 24V transformer (pin 2), a second wire (red) goes to ON of humidistat. its white from the transformer side is jumpered together with the white from pin 1.

A third wire (red) goes from C of humidistat (H8908B1002) to Norm Open of the sensing relay. Its white from the humidistat side is jumpered together with the white from the ON side. The other side of the white (C) ends up in Common of the sensing relay.

Any ideas??
Thanks again.
 
  #5  
Old 11-07-07, 04:54 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am having a hard time following your set up...

Are you able to draw this up, or take a photo of it for us??
 
  #6  
Old 11-08-07, 05:44 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I am sorry, didn't meant to confuse you.
you r right though, a drawing or a pic would have been better.

the good news is that I managed to fix it by replacing the humidistat, there was nothing wrong with the solenoid valve. Hopefully I wont have to do it again next year.

thanks
 
  #7  
Old 11-09-07, 06:43 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
new problem - water runs constantly

Hi,

Unfortunately I am reopening this, because I found out this morning that I have the same problem as Lefty9425, i.e. water runs constantly thru the humidifer, even though the furnace is off.
So I am attaching a drawing of the wiring, any help will be much appreciated. thank you.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/19376494@N04/1933428457/
 
  #8  
Old 11-09-07, 07:02 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the drawing! Sure made it a whole lot easier. It's wired right.

Unhook one of the wire off the sail switch and see if it stops.

If it stops, then the sail behind the ductwork may be stuck.
 
  #9  
Old 11-09-07, 08:44 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thank you for the reply. I have done that while the furnace was running, and it stopped the water flow. I am not sure what else I can do besides checking the sail (as you suggested). Will the replacement of the sail switch with an A50 relay be an alternative?

thanks again.
 
  #10  
Old 11-09-07, 09:26 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What is your model # and make of the furnace, we may be able to wire it up to the board, and take the sail switch out of the picture.
 
  #11  
Old 11-09-07, 09:53 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's an American Standard Trane #TWV036B140A1.

I also noticed that when the furnance turns off, the sail remains on a horizontal position instead of a vertical one (which is off I think).
 
  #12  
Old 11-09-07, 10:34 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You got an Air Handler there, not a furnace.. So I am guessing you have heat pump?

There is no port on the board to wire the humidifier to it. A sail switch or A50 relay is needed..

I've never been around a sail switch, I am guessing there is a spring that bring the sail back up, or the sail is dirty with dust build up, the weight of the dust is keeping it down?
 
  #13  
Old 11-10-07, 05:57 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes, there is a spring that is supposed to release the sail back up when the heat is off, that doesn't happen. The sail stays on the ON (horizontal) position...therefore water flow all the time.

I am going to replace the sail switch with an A50 relay...have already ordered one. Will the position and wiring be similar??

thank you again.
 
  #14  
Old 11-10-07, 06:19 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by yantonia View Post
I am going to replace the sail switch with an A50 relay...have already ordered one. Will the position and wiring be similar??

thank you again.
The A50 will go in your blower area, and wraps around the wire going to the motor. So just move the wire that was connected to the sail, and connect to the relay.
 
  #15  
Old 11-13-07, 12:31 PM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi,

I am not sure how to install and wire the A50 relay.
Do I connect the 2 wires of the relay to the C and ON of the humidistat? Also I am not sure where exactly goes. Can I just put it where the sail switch is at now?

thank you again.
 
  #16  
Old 11-13-07, 04:33 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have to put the A50 on the wire that goes to the blower motor. You need to look at the board to see what color wire is hooked on HEAT tap.

The wires that was on the sail switch needs to be moved into the blower area where the A50.. Wire the A50 as the same as the sail was wired up.
 
  #17  
Old 11-15-07, 10:30 AM
Y
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A final update on this. The relay didn't work with the current blower...dont know why. However, the sail switch is working now; it was placed too close to the edge (Beware) and everytime the heat turned off, the sail was stuck at the horizontal position.
thank you Jay!
 
  #18  
Old 11-15-07, 10:50 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Glad to hear that you got the sail switch working again.

For the A50 relay, did you put it on the heat speed wire, or what wire?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: