Generalaire 900 E2 Humidistat Problem

Old 11-18-07, 03:59 PM
M
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Generalaire 900 E2 Humidistat Problem

I just installed a Generalaire 900 bypass humidifier. Everything with the install went great (thanks to many posters on this site for tips/hints), but I can't get the humidstat to trip the solonoid valve when relative humidity drops significantly below the set point.

I'm a novice by all means when it comes to wiring, but I'll explain what I have done thus far. I'm fairly confident that I've wired the transformer correctly. Using a voltmeter I show 27v on the humidstat where the hot and neutral wires connect. The instructions call for a "jumper" wire from the neutral to the first "humidifer" port on the humidstat. I can also read 27v from this port between the "hot" solonoid connection (explained in a bit), telling me the jumper wire is working. The second "humidifer" port on the humidistat connects to one of the wires on the solonoid valve. The second solonoid wire is connected directly to the "hot" of the transformer. The "outdoor sensor" connections have been made as well. My limited knowledge of electricity is that when the humidstat calls for humidity, it will somehow complete the neutral circut closing the loop and activating the solonoid valve.

My first thought was maybe the solonoid valve is bad. So I manually completed the loop and it does open. I then thought maybe I wasn't getting enough volts, so I bought larger gauge wire (and a voltmeter). My humidistat powers up just fine and everything appears like it should be working.

I do have a few questions. First, is there a hot and a neutral wire from the solonoid? They're not labelled. Second, which post on the transformer is supposed to be hot? One says 24v and one says 12vA. I'm using the 24v as the hot and the 12vA one as the neutral right now. Third,
is it possible I got a bad humistat and it just isn't calling for humidity when it should?