thermolec self cleaning humidifier

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-12-07, 05:26 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thermolec self cleaning humidifier

Hi was wondering is someone can help?I want to put this unit in but have a few questions.My cold air from outside is attached to the cold return ducting and is blocking were i want to put the humidifier.Can it be moved and were can i put it?Also the flex hose that goes from the humidifier to the suppply duct can i put it above the A coil?There isnt much room below it.Also I ahve a keeprite furnace and was wondering if i can hook the humidifier directly to the furnace so it will come on with the heat?In stead of using the supplied transformer?Any idea on what connections i would hook wires to?Sorry for all the questions just need some advice. I have some pics of the furnace set up but not sure how to post them on here?Maybe if someone can help me i can email them?Thanks very much
 
  #2  
Old 12-12-07, 08:44 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by jammer316 View Post
My cold air from outside is attached to the cold return ducting and is blocking were i want to put the humidifier. Can it be moved and were can i put it?
Do you know if you have another pipe in the area that is
fresh air? If you don't you can remove the fresh air pipe, and bring it down near the furnace/water heater.. When you bring it down, you can put in two 90˚ elbow to make the U shape back up 4' to make a trap.

Also the flex hose that goes from the humidifier to the suppply duct can i put it above the A coil?
Yes, that would be best.

Also I have a keeprite furnace and was wondering if i can hook the humidifier directly to the furnace so it will come on with the heat? Instead of using the supplied transformer?
What is the model # do you have there for us?

[/quote]I have some pics of the furnace set up but not sure how to post them on here? Maybe if someone can help me i can email them?[/QUOTE]

The photo needs to go to a photo host site like www.imageshack.us or yahoo, copy the link, and when you reply, the tools above will have "Attach image", post the address of the link in between [img]
 
  #3  
Old 12-13-07, 07:03 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for the reply!When i get home tonight ill look at the model i do know it a keeprite high efficent but will get the model # was wondering i have a central exuast fan that when it runs the furnace blower motor runs as well.Can the humidifier be wired to only run when the heat is on?wouldnt be good to have humidifier running with just central exuast running?Also can i place the flex duct above the A coil?Thanks will post pics tonight.Thanks for the help
 
  #4  
Old 12-13-07, 07:06 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
sorry i just saw you answered my question about the flex duct and A coil.Thanks
 
  #5  
Old 12-13-07, 07:13 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, we will wire it only when call for heat. I'll be waiting for the info tonight.
 
  #6  
Old 12-13-07, 05:42 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Jay.Got the model keeprite N9MP2075B12A3 on the furnace control board there are terminal 24VAC , COM 3,neutral pins
L1, L2 ,Cont,Cool also EAC,HEAT,HUM,M1,M2 and R,C,W,Y,G. I am going to mount the flex duct above the Acoil.Also will move my big flexable duct from the side of the cold air return duct were i want to mount the humidifier to the front of the cold air duct should be ok.I will mount the humidistat on the cold air duct about 7 inches above the humdifier.Just hoping you can give me some kind of diagram how to wire humidifier and humidistat to the furnace so it will only go on when the heat is on and not the blower because of the central exuast fan works with the blower motor of the furnace.IF you could help that would be great!THANKS very much and sorry for all the questions
 
  #7  
Old 12-13-07, 07:47 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, we can use the HUM, and C on the board for your humidifier.

HUM is your power, that will power up when there is call for heat, and shut off when call for heat ends.

C is your common.

With this, you won't need to use the relay/sail switch, and transformer.
 
  #8  
Old 12-13-07, 08:24 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks Jay.Just alittle confused.The C connection you are talking about on the furnace control board is it the C were the thermostat wires are connected R.C,W,Y,G OR are you talking the COM pin beside the 24VAC pin .THX
 
  #9  
Old 12-13-07, 08:43 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
C, where the t-stat wires goes to.
 
  #10  
Old 12-13-07, 08:56 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thx Very much JAY!
 
  #11  
Old 12-13-07, 09:01 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You're welcome!
 
  #12  
Old 12-15-07, 06:51 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Jay.Well i hooked it up no leaks but i think i cooked the motor on the humidifier.I hooked com from humidistat,to com of furnace boared.then other wire from humidistat to white of motor,then Hum of furnace board to other end of motor.motor was turning then i could smell burning and the motor of humidifier was really hot!Did i hook up something wrong?Thanks
 
  #13  
Old 12-16-07, 07:31 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like you did it right.

wired like this?
 
  #14  
Old 12-16-07, 08:18 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
looks the same just reversed my COM from humistat goes directly to C of furnace.Your diagram shows other wire from humidistatwhich is labeled NO going directly to HUM of furnace.If its reversed should it make a difference?thanks
 
  #15  
Old 12-16-07, 08:21 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It shouldn't matter with low voltage. but I'd like to break the power before the humidifier, than after.

Did you check your HUM on the board that it's in fact is 24 volts with a meter? If the valve got that hot, sounds like it got 120volts instead of 24.
 
  #16  
Old 12-16-07, 08:52 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just a quick question the furnace boared say 24VAC but i will meter it.If i put a mter across the HUM terminal and the C terminal does the furnace have to be running or can i mter it with it not running?Thanks
 
  #17  
Old 12-16-07, 09:36 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
it needs to be running, tape the blower door switch, and take a reading..
 
  #18  
Old 12-16-07, 01:05 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well i took a reading and its 119.3 guess that explains the motor burning.I dont understand the board had a terminal that says 24VAC so i assumed that HUM was 24 volts.
 
  #19  
Old 12-16-07, 01:17 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looks like it's time to buy a transfromer, and also a new valve.
 
  #20  
Old 12-16-07, 08:30 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yup transformer and motor for the drum.Thanks for the help
 
  #21  
Old 12-16-07, 08:58 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So Jay i just hook the 120v side of transformer to HUM and C of furnace board then just wire it up as b4?Thanks
 
  #22  
Old 12-16-07, 09:04 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yep. just putting the transformer in between.
 
  #23  
Old 12-17-07, 12:26 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HI Jay.Was wondering i am trying to find a transformer for this humidier and hardware stores dont seem to have them was wondering i called a electical place and told them i need a 120 -24 VAC step down transformer she was asking me single phase or double phase how many amps?Was wondering can you tell me exactly what i need?Thought is would be easy to get.Thanks
 
  #24  
Old 12-17-07, 02:02 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You'll want a single phase, 10 to 20 amps is fine.
 
  #25  
Old 12-17-07, 02:25 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks for the help
 
  #26  
Old 12-28-07, 11:10 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi Jay.Was wondering humidifier is working but i have one question?I wired to the furnace board connections HUM and the C were the t-stat wires go but it comes on when the furnace motor starts.I thought it was only going to come when heat is called for?What happens now is if i run my central exuast when showering if its the humidistat calls for it it will run also.so it seems to run if the furnace motor is going not just heat.Any way to fix?Thanks
 
  #27  
Old 12-28-07, 03:57 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I don't know your Brand, but kinda sounds like it powers up whenever the blower comes on...

Only thing you can do is move the wire from HUM to R.
 
  #28  
Old 12-28-07, 04:47 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
its a keeprite N9MP2 If i move it from HUM to R will it just come on with the heat only?Thanks
 
  #29  
Old 12-28-07, 04:49 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Err... I ment W.. NOT R....

W will power up when t-stat calls for heat.
 
  #30  
Old 12-28-07, 04:54 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 25
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks jay will hook up to W & C
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: