GeneralAire Model 1137 on always

Old 01-06-09, 04:14 PM
C
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts

HI....My GeneralAire Model 1137 is about 4 years old. It was not pumping the water so a plumber said to replace the selonoid. I did that and that resolved the lack of water into the unit...however as per the specs the unit should shut off when the furnace is off; but it doesn't. I am not good with electrical connections but need some help as to what it could be. Unfortunately, I am the only person who can fit into the 5 inch space between the GeneralAire unit & the hot water tank to resolve this. To the best of my knowledge the unit never shut off in the past and perhaps this is why the selonoid burned out??? When I turn up the humidistat the fan clicks on the unit and water comes through it furnace on or off. I have a Rheem Classic 90 Plus Premium Effeciency Furnace.
Thanks
ChicagoLaure

Old 01-06-09, 09:27 PM
Sounds like the unit is plugged into a regular outlet?

If so, it needs to be plugged into another outlet that will needed to be added to your furnace.

On your furnace, you will have a 120volts HUM where an outlet can be wired into this.

The HUM will only power up on call of heat, and shuts off when heat is not called for.

Old 01-06-09, 09:39 PM
C

In looking at the "plug ins" it is plugged into the same box which has "two outlets" and an "on off switch". The on off switch is for the furnace. The plug in cords to the outlets feed the humidifier and my hot water heater. Upon looking up at the piping...it runs upward into a light fixture and then goes off to somewhere.....does this help in your diagnosis???

chicagoLaure

Old 01-06-09, 09:44 PM
Sounds like that outlet is "Hot" all the times..

Another outlet needs to be added that will go right to the furnace's board.

Or a relay (A50) can be used instead of putting in a new outlet.

Old 01-06-09, 09:50 PM
C