AprilAire 500A - Solenoid not opening

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-18-09, 07:38 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
AprilAire 500A - Solenoid not opening

I finally got my 500A hooked up and working last night. But, no water is flowing.

I checked my water connection and I have water to the solenoid, but none past it.

I broke out the DMM and turned the blower/heat on and tested the 'H' terminals, but no voltage. Shouldn't I be reading 24V on those terminals?
 
  #2  
Old 01-19-09, 07:38 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well, I can't figure out anything else so, I think it must be the solenoid.

Is there any place online to pick up one relatively cheaply?
 
  #3  
Old 01-19-09, 12:26 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did you follow Step 3 of the humidstat install manual, Mode Switch set to A
 
  #4  
Old 01-19-09, 12:45 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Did you follow Step 3 of the humidstat install manual, Mode Switch set to A
Yes sir. I even tried it on B just to see what would happen.

Tonight I'm going to hook the 24V directly to the 24V supply to see if the solenoid is good or not.
 
  #5  
Old 01-19-09, 12:52 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You should have power on H and H on the humidistat.

Is W/G and Cf hooked up, and if so, where to?
 
  #6  
Old 01-19-09, 01:44 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Using a multimeter on H and H, I read 0 volts.
Edit: I read 0 volts when the furnace is on and the blower is on. I also read 0 when setting the control to Test/Reset.

I have W connected to the W and the Cf connected to the C on the thermostat terminal block. I read ~28V across those terminal blocks.
 
  #7  
Old 01-19-09, 02:20 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like you have a bad humidstat.

Take a read between Cf and H, and try the other H to Cf.

If you still get 0V then it's the humidsta. I would also just test the valve by wire that right to R and C.
 
  #8  
Old 01-19-09, 02:24 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Sounds like you have a bad humidstat.

Take a read between Cf and H, and try the other H to Cf.

If you still get 0V then it's the humidsta. I would also just test the valve by wire that right to R and C.
Thanks Jay. You've been a huge help. I'll test using your suggestions tonight and post what I find.

Thanks again!
 
  #9  
Old 01-19-09, 02:46 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Glad to help, I'll be waiting for your results.
 
  #10  
Old 01-19-09, 05:00 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Glad to help, I'll be waiting for your results.
Well... it's working now. Beer 4U2

Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Did you follow Step 3 of the humidstat install manual, Mode Switch set to A

Wanna guess what I did wrong?


I can't believe I did that. I really, really, really appreciate the help.
 
  #11  
Old 01-19-09, 05:45 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Let me guess.. YOu set the wrong switch??
 
  #12  
Old 01-19-09, 05:51 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Let me guess.. YOu set the wrong switch??
You are correct! I was wrong earlier, it was set on B.

Jeez, I've been playing with it since Saturday night. I've checked all the wiring at least 3 times. For some reason I always overlook the simplest things and they always come back to bite me.

Thanks again. You probably saved me a huge headache and many hours looking over the system again and again.

If I'm ever up your way, beers are on me!
 
  #13  
Old 01-19-09, 06:18 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
LOL

well, I am glad to help, and you got it figured out.

You have a great week!
 
  #14  
Old 02-07-09, 05:00 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nothing connected to W/G and Cf

Jay...I also have this same problem with my Aprilaire 500A (solenoid not opening except when control knob turned all the way to "test" mode). My unit was installed "professionally" by the furnace installer. My furnace is a Goodman GKS9. I've tried the Manual Mode resistor but still nothing. ** By the way, when Manual Mode resistor is installed, should the Mode Switch be set to "B"? **

Anyway, I noticed that there are no wires connected to W/G or Cf in my installation. Is that the problem?
 
  #15  
Old 02-07-09, 07:24 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by winnisailor View Post
** By the way, when Manual Mode resistor is installed, should the Mode Switch be set to "B"? **
No, Switch should be set to the model of your humidifier, not if outdoor sensor is used or not. Read step 3 of the install manual.


Anyway, I noticed that there are no wires connected to W/G or Cf in my installation. Is that the problem?
Yes, you need to have W/G and Cf hooked up, that what powers up the water valve.

R and C is just the display power.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: