Humidifier not maintaining humidity level

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-21-09, 06:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Humidifier not maintaining humidity level

Finally got the HE265 hooked up and running. It was working good until the temps got colder and the heat is coming on more often. Its currently hooked up to our first floor air handler, mounted on the cold air return with a duct running to the supply side (couldnt fit it any other way). The house is 4000 sqft with 2 additional air handlers. One for the second floor and one for the master bedroom. So far, the humidifier has been running non stop, and only reaching 30% humidity. I have water running, and draining out the drain valve in the bottom of the unit.
Any ideas how to maintain 40%. The specs say it will handle 4000 sqft.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-21-09, 07:09 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Ktm250rider View Post
Its currently hooked up to our first floor air handler, mounted on the cold air return
That's your problem.. The humidifier has no heat to help eveperate the water off the pad.

Fan powered unit needs to be on the supply/hot side of the system.

You can hook up hot water to it, but it's not going to help much.
 
  #3  
Old 12-21-09, 04:12 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The HE265 is a by-pass unit not a powered unit and was recommended to be used on the cold air side since I didnt have space on the warm air side for the unit.
 
  #4  
Old 12-21-09, 08:46 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Opps! My bad.. There was too much going on around the house this morning with the window guys here..

It may take a while for it to catch up.. The 4k sq ft home is a tight house. If your house is not tight, it's going to have a harder time catching up.

Is the air handler heat pump or gas furnace?
 
  #5  
Old 12-22-09, 05:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The air handlers are all hydronic units (fed hot water from a central boiler). The house is fairly tight. Ive had a blower door test done and eliminated a lot of the major air leak paths. Have not had a second one done since the major leaks were fixed.
The humidifier has been running constantly for a week and the humidity level keeps dropping from 40% last week to now 30%.
 
  #6  
Old 12-22-09, 06:49 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is hot water hooked up to the humidifier? Some times hot water helps out.

You have fresh air or HRV system tied to your return?
 
  #7  
Old 12-22-09, 10:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hooked up to cold. Cant imagine hooking it up to hot, the way it drains out the bottom, the water heater will be working all the time too.
no fresh air or HRV
 
  #8  
Old 12-22-09, 10:45 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My humidifier don't run that much, but when it does run it don't drain out on the water heater that much.. Matter of fact, the heat from the water is added to the air. The water temp coming out fo the drain is much cooler after it passes the pad.
 
  #9  
Old 01-03-10, 05:54 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well, i switched over to the hot water line. It seems a little better but its still have a hard time keeping up the 35% humidity setting.
Oh and we just got our electric bill, +70 bucks to run this thing. Feel like i wasted my money.
 
  #10  
Old 01-03-10, 06:40 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I find it very hard it cause the electric to jump $70 for the humidifier.

You have lot of company or over night guest at the house?
 
  #11  
Old 01-04-10, 04:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nothing changed but the humidifier running 24 hours a day for just about the whole month.
 
  #12  
Old 01-04-10, 07:51 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is it running only on call of heat or with the fan on?

I don't know what else to say.. We've been -17˚ a couple of times, and humidifier isn't running much.
 
  #13  
Old 01-07-10, 04:49 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Its set to run to maintain a set humidity level.
 
  #14  
Old 01-07-10, 10:04 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I perfer it to run when calls for heat, not force fan on.. I had mine set up like that it first, and noticed it ran more.. I changed it to heat only, and runs less.
 
  #15  
Old 01-12-10, 06:09 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: usa
Posts: 64
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Changed to run only when heat is on. Sure the humidifier runs less but since it runs less, it doesnt increase the humidity in the house.
 
  #16  
Old 01-12-10, 07:21 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
you may have to have another humidifier added to your home.

How many air handler do you have?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: