Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Humidifiers and Dehumidifiers
Reload this Page >

Aprilaire 56 Humidistat...can I change humidifer to Honeywell & use humidistat?

Aprilaire 56 Humidistat...can I change humidifer to Honeywell & use humidistat?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-14-10, 08:38 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 56 Humidistat...can I change humidifer to Honeywell & use humidistat?

I have an Aprilaire 600 bypass humidifer installed with the Aprilaire 56 Humidistat. I need to put in a power humidifier in place of the bypass one. If I change to a Honeywell HE365, can I use the existing Aprilaire 56 Humidistat with it or does that need to be changed out also?

The humidistat currently has the manual mode resister connected, but I want to add the automatic functionality to the new power humidifier once installed. If I can re-use the aprilaire humidistat it would obviously save money by not having to buy a power humidifier that comes with an automatic humidistat.

any thoughts? are humidistats only supposed to be used with the same brnad/type of humidifer they came with?
 
  #2  
Old 01-14-10, 09:26 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 80
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Could not find power requirements for the HE365, but found the following info on the 56 H-stat:

Product Description

Aprilaire 56 AutoTrac Humidistat Controller. Aprilaire duct mount low voltage electronic humidistat. Comes with outdoor air sensor. Can be retrofit installed on any humidifier with a 24 volt AC control system to make it AutoTrac style. Includes installation instructions. This system is so advanced it automatically lowers and raises the humidity setpoint as the outdoor air temperature changes.
 
  #3  
Old 01-14-10, 02:12 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by delta l View Post
Could not find power requirements for the HE365, but found the following info on the 56 H-stat:

Product Description

Aprilaire 56 AutoTrac Humidistat Controller. Aprilaire duct mount low voltage electronic humidistat. Comes with outdoor air sensor. Can be retrofit installed on any humidifier with a 24 volt AC control system to make it AutoTrac style. Includes installation instructions. This system is so advanced it automatically lowers and raises the humidity setpoint as the outdoor air temperature changes.
the honeywell humidifers (HE360 and HE365) have a 24V transformer inside the units to convert from 110v to 24v.

i just found out i can get the HE360 (manual humidistat included) for about $75 less than the HE365 humidifier (automatic humidistat included)....so i am thinking i can get the HE360 and wire it into the aprilaire 56 humidistat in order to get the automatic humidity control, correct?
 
  #4  
Old 01-14-10, 02:28 PM
D
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 80
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by swedrows View Post
the honeywell humidifers (HE360 and HE365) have a 24V transformer inside the units to convert from 110v to 24v.

i just found out i can get the HE360 (manual humidistat included) for about $75 less than the HE365 humidifier (automatic humidistat included)....so i am thinking i can get the HE360 and wire it into the aprilaire 56 humidistat in order to get the automatic humidity control, correct?
Why? You have a perfectly good automatic H-stat. What would you expect to accomplish by installing a second stat, assuming that you could get it to work?

How would you wire it?

Disclaimer: Not a PRO, but interested.

By the way, I believe you said you're replacing a bypass unit. Why the need to switch type?

Delta
 
  #5  
Old 01-14-10, 02:49 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by delta l View Post
Why? You have a perfectly good automatic H-stat. What would you expect to accomplish by installing a second stat, assuming that you could get it to work?

How would you wire it?

Disclaimer: Not a PRO, but interested.

By the way, I believe you said you're replacing a bypass unit. Why the need to switch type?

Delta
i think i might not have been clear in how i wrote my previous post. for clarity, here is what i was trying to say. i currently have an Aprilaire 600 bypass humidifier with an Aprilaire 56 humidistat. I have been having problems with my furnace overheating, so i need to replace the bypass humidifier with a power humidifier. the bypass has been the main culprit in my furnace overheating because it is dumping hot air back into the furnace, which heats it up more and thus, overheats.

anyway, i am trying to figure out if i can still use the aprilaire 56 humidistat if i got a new power humidifier because the aprilaire 56 humidistat has an automatic humidity control that i want to take advantage of. the new power humidifier that i want to purchase is the Honeywell HE360, which comes with a manual humidistat. i want to hook up the HE360 humidifier to the Aprilaire 56 humidistat. i will NOT be using the manual humidistat that comes with the power humidifier.

so my question comes back to this. since the power humidifier has a built-in 24v transformer, and the Aprilaire 56 humidistat is 24v, can i simply continue using it instead of replacing it with a honeywell humidistat?
 
  #6  
Old 01-14-10, 09:49 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm afraid you can't use the 56 with the Honeywell.

Do you have a meter? We can test it out to see if we can use it.
 
  #7  
Old 01-15-10, 07:32 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
I'm afraid you can't use the 56 with the Honeywell.

Do you have a meter? We can test it out to see if we can use it.
thanks for the answer. i guess i'll have to decide now if i want to hook up the manual control with the power humidifier or go with the more expensive automatic control version of the power hummidifier....any thoughts?

i have an electrical voltage meter, is that what you mean?
 
  #8  
Old 01-15-10, 07:45 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, does your meter have the OHM/Ω scale?

Otherwise, what we can do, Undo the two wires that goes to the humidifier.

There's a swtich "Bypass and Powered". Switch it over to Powered, and take a reading on the two thermal that the humidifier was on. (Have heat and humidistat calling for)

IF we get voltage reading, then we can't use that. If we don't get any voltage reading then we can use the honeywell.

Let me know if your meter has the Ohm/Ω scale.
 
  #9  
Old 01-15-10, 08:56 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Yes, does your meter have the OHM/Ω scale?

Otherwise, what we can do, Undo the two wires that goes to the humidifier.

There's a swtich "Bypass and Powered". Switch it over to Powered, and take a reading on the two thermal that the humidifier was on. (Have heat and humidistat calling for)

IF we get voltage reading, then we can't use that. If we don't get any voltage reading then we can use the honeywell.

Let me know if your meter has the Ohm/Ω scale.
ok i'll try that when i get home, although at the moment i am thinking i may opt to just get the power humidifier with the automatic control, then i can sell the aprilaire 56. it still needs the outdoor temperature sensor since the original hvac contrator that installed the humidifier didn't hook it up, nor did he give me the sensor. when i think about it, it seems strange that he opted to install the more expensive aprilaire automatic humidistat, yet didn't hook in temperature sensor with it and simply put the humidistat in manual mode.
 
  #10  
Old 01-15-10, 09:06 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 80
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe that not having the outdoor sensor would negate automatic control. The purpose of the ODT is to 'inform' the H-stat what level of humidity it needs to call for.

Do I recall your earlier post stating that the stat was operating in manual mode?

Delta
 
  #11  
Old 01-15-10, 09:19 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 14
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by delta l View Post
I believe that not having the outdoor sensor would negate automatic control. The purpose of the ODT is to 'inform' the H-stat what level of humidity it needs to call for.

Do I recall your earlier post stating that the stat was operating in manual mode?

Delta
yes, it is operating in manual mode right now. that's why i found it puzzling when i realized that the humidistat we have is an automatic model, but it was set in manual mode by the hvac contractor. i did check around and found the ODT for sale on the aprilaire website, but if i can't use this specific humidistat with the honeywell power humidifier i want to buy, then i will just hook up the automatic humidistat that comes with the honeywell power humidifier.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: