Honeywell TrueEASE HE250 Whole house humidifier

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-05-10, 12:35 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell TrueEASE HE250 Whole house humidifier

Hi All,

I've been looking at whole house humidfiers and was leaning towards the AprilAire 600 until I found this newer model from Honeywell. The feature list of this unit says it has the ability to turn the furnance fan on or keep it on if there is a still a need of humidity outside of a normal heat cycle. The wiring looks a bit more complicated then the aprilaire and it costs more. So before I invested in this one I was wonder if anybody knew if this unit can in fact control the fan on a Lennox Elite G26 furnance. I know it doesn't have a HUM contact but I believe it does have a accessory contact.
 
  #2  
Old 11-05-10, 09:25 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by piercerd View Post
The feature list of this unit says it has the ability to turn the furnance fan on or keep it on if there is a still a need of humidity outside of a normal heat cycle.
Correct. Honestly, I did not see any gain of doing this when I did this on my system, so I had it set up to only come on with the call of heat.

I do like this new Honeywell, and been playing with the ideal of upgrading to this. What I like about this, the damper closes when there is no call for humdity, and less waste on water.

The wiring looks a bit more complicated then the aprilaire and it costs more.
I think this wire hook up is a bit easier than the Aprilaire.


So before I invested in this one I was wonder if anybody knew if this unit can in fact control the fan on a Lennox Elite G26 furnance. I know it doesn't have a HUM contact but I believe it does have a accessory contact.
Yes, you can do that, and you don't need the HUM or Acc since transformer will be wired "HOT" all times.
 
  #3  
Old 11-06-10, 09:47 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Well I was only thinking the ability to control the fan might come in handy if the house still needed humidity at the end of a heat cycle, I don't see much use in its ability to start on its own since its humidistat will be in the air return which probably won't get a good sample of air until the furnace is on in the first place.

The reason the wiring has thrown me is because of the Honeywell diagram which I attached below. it calls for the HUM line which as you look at the photos of my furnace control board you will see I don't I have. I do have the model of thermostat that has some sort of humidity control on it but I've never used it so I don't have any idea how it works.


Definition of the contacts in the diagram


Dip switch settings



Honeywell wiring diagram


Furnace Thermostat terminals


Furnance control terminals


Thermostat terminals (Ritetemp 8082C)
 
  #4  
Old 11-06-10, 12:08 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
using the ritetemp 8082C to control everything

Jay,

I noticed that I had a H terminal on the RiteTemp 8082C thermostat that I have. I've never set the humidity high and low on it but I thought let me give that a try. As soon as I set the Min to above what the house humidity was the blower fan kicked on. I attached a extra wire (disconnected on both ends orange wire) to the H terminal on the thermostat and measured across it and the white wire with a DMM down at the furnace. when the thermostat calls for humidity the fan kicks on and 26 VAC appears across the orange and white wire. I believe that means I can use this wiring setup that honeywell lists for their high end thermostats. What do you think?

.
 
  #5  
Old 11-06-10, 09:12 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you want to use your t-stat as the humidifier control, this how it can be wired.

H from stat goes to GT/W on humidifier.

C on humidifier goes to C on furnace.

Power to transformer.

then wire nut the two HUM wire together.
 
  #6  
Old 11-11-10, 03:31 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your help Jay, Got it all installed today and its working off the thermostat as it calls for humidity.
 
  #7  
Old 11-12-10, 06:55 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the update, and have a great weekend!
 
  #8  
Old 11-14-10, 09:32 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jay,

Is there a lot of difference between using the cold water supply and the hot? I opted for the cold as I didn't want the humidifier to run the water heater out of hot water and I figured that would increase my power bills. I'm wondering if that was a bad choice.
 
  #9  
Old 11-14-10, 09:36 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is your water heater gas or electric?

I have gas, and saw no changes in the cost. The heat from the hot water is put into the air. (If you feel the water coming out of the drain, it's room temp.

I think aprilaire said it makes no changes on hot or cold doing a better job.. I personal think hot is better since the water can evaporate faster.
 
  #10  
Old 11-14-10, 09:42 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The water heater is electric. I'm just wondering because it seems like it takes a long time for the unit to run to make any change on the humidity reading on the thermostat. Also I do have a radon evacuation system in the house. The house was 1% over the limit when I bought it so they had to put one in. Could that be causing the humidifier to work much harder? I mean it might just be thats its not that cold outside yet and once it is it will be able to maintain the humidity better, I guess I'm just a bit worried.


* added additional content.
 
  #11  
Old 11-14-10, 09:46 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm also rethinking having the 8082C control it, because when it kicks the fan on by itself its going to be blowing cool air over the pad. I looked at hooking it up so that it would run anytime the fan was on but when I hook the G/W terminal on the humidifier to the G terminal on the furnace the humidifier would run when I manually turned the fan on but it wouldn't when the furnace turned it on.
 
  #12  
Old 11-14-10, 09:53 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, are you having the Ritetemp control the humidity or use the humidistat?

If you use the ritetemp, we can't use that along with the low voltage on the furnace.
 
  #13  
Old 11-14-10, 09:59 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
when I tried to do the fan run I unhooked the Ritetemp. My line of thought on this was that usually the humidity changes happened after the furnace runs because it dries out the air, so if the humidifier ran while the furnace ran that would combat that. Also the Ritetemp kicks the fan off and on when it wants humidity regardless of what is hooked to H if anything so if I left H unhooked and hooked the Humidifier up to run when the fan ran the humidifier would run during both of those conditions. Does that make sense?
 
  #14  
Old 11-14-10, 10:13 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If you want the humidifier to run only with fan running, wires to G.

If you want it to run only when the heat is called for wired to W.

If you want it to run when ever fan is running in heat or fan only, the a transformer is need to be wired to EAC (Electronic Air Cleaner).
 
  #15  
Old 11-20-10, 12:01 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Okay Jay this is a done deal. I ended up getting the transformer and hooking it to the EAC connection. I hooked the secondary side of the transformer to the C and W on the humidifier so it will run every time the furnace calls for heat or if the thermostat calls for humidity. In addition I also put the humidistat that came with the unit into the cool air return and hooked it to the unit removing the jumper I had originally in place. I set the humidistat on the very high end of what I would want the house at.

Hopefully the end result will be the humidifier running more when the furnace is on which make its more efficient but still be able to run by itself if it needs to up the humidity in the house per the thermostat. The humidistat is there to make sure the house just doesn't get to humid. so I've kind of created a humidifier that has a low and high set points instead of a single set point.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: