Honeywell TrueEase?

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-09-10, 12:04 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell TrueEase?

Anyone have any opinions on this line of humidifiers? I was toying with re installing my old Aprilaire 760, but came across Product.
My AA is loud.
 
  #2  
Old 11-10-10, 07:13 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
They just came out a few months ago, so I have no ideal what they are like. I am guessing they are going to be good products!
 
  #3  
Old 11-11-10, 07:37 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Would you go powered or bypass on these units? I assume only the powered one can make a call to turn the blower on. IF this is the casehow is humidity created if there is no heat call?
 
  #4  
Old 11-11-10, 08:57 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I prefer the bypass units.. Just less things to go wrong, and can be mounted on the return. I just think anything on top of the furnace with water is something waiting to happen down the road.

Any humidifier can be set up to turn on the furnace fan if humidity is needed, but I've tried that for a year on mine, and it seems to run a lot more than jsut having it only come on with heat call only.
 
  #5  
Old 11-11-10, 09:28 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The problem I have is I need to replace my old garage doors. Until that is done, I can not control the air infiltration in my house. Hence, my house gets very dry. I don't think just running when the heat is pumping is going to work. I don't understand what the pros are of a fan powered unit. Is it supposed to be more efficient? Both the passive and powered units claim 17-18 gallons a day.

As for return mount, my Aprilaire 760 was simply too loud to put on my return. i always heard that thing running. I wonder how much quieter these new Honeywells are. Do passive units have to be mounted on the return?
 
  #6  
Old 11-11-10, 03:27 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I just installed the HE250 today, install was pretty simple and it seems like the unit is built well and designed smart. I can't really tell you how it works yet because its been in the 70s all week and there isn't much need for extra humidity in the house. Outside of saying the bypass opened and the water ran onto the pad when my thermostat called for humidity that is .

There are two versions for the bypass TrueEase. One version can control your furnace fan. I got lucky in that my thermostat can control a humidifier and kicks the furnace fan when the house needs humidity.
 
  #7  
Old 11-11-10, 04:17 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pierced. Are you a pro? There is no warranty on these units unless a pro installs it. I found out the hard way with the TrueSteam.

Is this unit quiet?
 
  #8  
Old 11-11-10, 06:08 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nope not a pro.


As far as quiet, it what way? The only moving parts are two solenoids.
 
  #9  
Old 11-11-10, 08:00 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My Aprilaire 760 was very noisy. I could here it every time it kicked in. Went right through the return.
 
  #10  
Old 11-12-10, 07:07 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by rldev View Post
I don't understand what the pros are of a fan powered unit. Is it supposed to be more efficient?
I have not seen this in print or anything, but some says it makes your furnace a bit more effecent. I saw no changes on mine when I added the bypass to mine.'

As for return mount, my Aprilaire 760 was simply too loud to put on my return. i always heard that thing running. I wonder how much quieter these new Honeywells are.
These just came out, so I have not seen or heard these in person. What Pierced has is a bypass unit, not fan powered.


Do passive units have to be mounted on the return?
You mean bypass unit? No, they can be on the supply, but lot of HVAC tech like them on the return.
 
  #11  
Old 11-12-10, 09:49 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell instructions state to mount bypass on supply and run a 6 inch duct to the return. It says it needs this for monitoring pressure of something?
 
  #12  
Old 11-12-10, 03:44 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Pretty much all brands will say that, but as I said, we mount them on the return. it don't matter where it goes.
 
  #13  
Old 11-12-10, 04:50 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by rldev View Post
My Aprilaire 760 was very noisy. I could here it every time it kicked in. Went right through the return.
well mind you this is a brand new unit that has only been on to test the operation, maybe it will come on soon since the humidity is getting lower in the house. Anyway, all I heard was a small click of the water valve opening. I didn't even hear the bypass vent open. You can hear that when you first apply power to the unit I think it cycles around in a circle to make sure its at its home position. Now unlike the fan model the furnace fan does have to run so you do hear that. I would assume even with the fan model it wouldn't be very efficient if that furnace fan wasn't running while it was on.
 
  #14  
Old 11-12-10, 04:55 PM
P
Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by rldev View Post
Honeywell instructions state to mount bypass on supply and run a 6 inch duct to the return. It says it needs this for monitoring pressure of something?

On page 6 of the install guide in the text, not the picture, it says "Both Humidifier models can be mounted to either the supply or the return."

Both models meaning the bypass or the fan models.
 

Last edited by piercerd; 11-12-10 at 05:19 PM.
  #15  
Old 11-12-10, 07:00 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks. I think I will order one of these. For the price, the warranty means nothing. It would have to be replaced 3 times to match the cost of a pro install around here.
 
  #16  
Old 11-12-10, 08:39 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by piercerd View Post
On page 6 of the install guide in the text, not the picture, it says "Both Humidifier models can be mounted to either the supply or the return."

Both models meaning the bypass or the fan models.
Where are you seeing that? I don't see it.. On what I am seeing on page 5.

Bypass can be on both supply or return. Fan powered on supply only.
 
  #17  
Old 11-14-10, 09:26 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 21
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by Jay11J View Post
Where are you seeing that? I don't see it.. On what I am seeing on page 5.

Bypass can be on both supply or return. Fan powered on supply only.
in the manual http://customer.honeywell.com/techli.../69-2413EF.pdf .

If you look on page 5 it says under the which humidifier do you have, when it describes the fan it says "Access to only the supply or the return is required"

On page 6 in the second paragraph last sentence it says "Both Humidifier models can be mounted to either the supply or the return"

The docs on the web appear to be the 3rd revision of the manual, the one I have here that came with my humidifier appear to be the second revision. Maybe you have the original docs?
 
  #18  
Old 11-14-10, 09:40 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
A person could put it on the return, I just don't think it will do as a good job if you were to put the fan powered unit on the supply. Return air is cool, and water will evaporate slowly.
 
  #19  
Old 11-15-10, 07:31 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If this is the case, wouldn't a powered unit on the supply do a better job than a bypass on the return? Also the furnace is a Lennox 2 stage with variable speed fan.
 

Last edited by rldev; 11-15-10 at 07:54 AM.
  #20  
Old 11-15-10, 10:30 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No.

The bypass is still getting hot air from the supply side. The air will always go from supply to return on a bypass unit no matter where it's mounted.

You have a two stage t-stat on the furnace?
 
  #21  
Old 11-15-10, 10:47 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have a vision pro IAQ thermostat.
 
  #22  
Old 11-15-10, 10:58 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, cool. I take it the dealer has it wired up and set up for two stage?
 
  #23  
Old 11-15-10, 11:00 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I'm fairly sure you helped me wire it up a couple of years ago. It is working properly.
 
  #24  
Old 11-15-10, 09:35 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
if you came here, then yeah a good chance I helped ya! :-)
 
  #25  
Old 11-15-10, 09:41 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So does it matter that I have 2 stage variable speed? I'm fairly sure I read on HVAC talk that a powered fan humidifier is better in this setup. What do you think?
 
  #26  
Old 11-16-10, 04:16 AM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I couldn't tell ya if it's better or not. I've only seen one working in my life time. Otherwise, pretty much everyone around here has the bypass unit.
 
  #27  
Old 12-03-10, 01:55 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
any idea what the opening size needs to be on this unit?
 
  #28  
Old 12-03-10, 02:00 PM
M
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 15
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
ahhhhhh never mind, I see it now. Plenum Opening ~ 9 5/16" W x 9 7/16" H
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: