Aprilaire #60 Installation Challenges

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-23-11, 09:33 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire #60 Installation Challenges

I am struggling getting my new Aprilaire #60 humidistat wired up correctly. Here is the equipment I'm working with...Carrier Weather Maker Infinity furnace (year 2000) and Aprilaire 568 Humidifier (year 2000). Two zones controlled by a Honeywell EMM-3 Electronic MiniZone Panel. I am replacing an old manual dial Aprilaire humidistat as I was looking for the relative humidity readout along with a more intelligent humidistat.

Here is how it is wired currently...

Humidistat EMM-3 Furnace 24v transformer (constant)
R-------------------------------------R (same transformer used to power furnace)
C-------------------------------------C (same transformer used to power furnace)
C (same C as above)------------------------Also wired to humidifier solenoid
A (not used)
B (not used)
ODT--------------------------------------------Outdoor temp sensor
ODT--------------------------------------------Outdoor temp sensor
W---------------------W
G-------------G
H1 (jumpered back go humidistat R)
H2---------------------------------------------Humidifier solenoid
Gf---------------------G

Here is the good...I have constant power to the humidistat. Relative humidy is correctly displaying. Outdoor temp sensor show the correct resistance for current temperature (approximately 30 degrees farenheit). Wiring for fan appears correct as I can turn on the fan from one of the two thermostats.

Here are the problem...(1)Cannot get humidistat to calling for humidification. (2) Test/Reset mode only working when Blower Activation is in the On position.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. My wife thinks I'm starting to milk this project. Thanks!!!
 
  #2  
Old 03-24-11, 04:30 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
  #3  
Old 03-24-11, 09:42 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you very much for your diagram. Better than my crude attempt at presenting how I was configured. I have modified my configuration to match your drawing. Slightly different than what I had taken from a drawing you had done on a similar post. Unfortunately the net result is the same.

My situation is that I cannot get the humidistat to calling for humidification. As a side note, Test/Reset mode only working when Blower Activation is in the On position.

Here is some added detail which may be relevant. When I am in Test/Reset mode with the Blower Activation set to ON and the solenoid opens for a minute, the humidistat "chatters" or clicks On and Off rapidly when I back down the dial until I reach a point at which the humidistat would no longer be calling for humidification.

Based on the troubleshooting guidelines I measure 26.2 VAC across the R and C terminals of the humidistat. This is within the 22 to 30 VAC range I should expect. The HVAC signal across the W and C however is only 20.6 VAC as is the signal across G and C also 20.6. Could this explain why my humidistat is never calling for humidifcation? Appears the humidistat is looking for 22 to 30 VAC. I am running both the furnace and the furnace off the same transformer. I don't know if wiring the humidistat to a separate transformer would help?

Again, I greatly appreciate the help!
 
  #4  
Old 03-25-11, 05:22 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
check the voltage at the connections you listed at the furnace control board and see what you have there. you may have bad connections at the furnace, or humidistat, or thermostat
 
  #5  
Old 03-26-11, 01:52 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I believe I did not measure voltage at the right time. I have good voltage at the humidistat between R and C as well as W and C. I am only seeing 12-13 VAC across G and C at the humidistat. Based on the wiring my G is coming from the thermostat. I am also measuring the same volgate (12-13 VAC) there as well. Thoughts? Thanks!
 
  #6  
Old 03-26-11, 05:42 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
if only 12-13V between G and C at humidistat would mean bad connection at thermostat or bad thermostat.
 
  #7  
Old 03-27-11, 11:27 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The 13V is coming from the fan connection on my Honeywell EMM-3. Only two of the zones are in use. Any thoughts on troubshooting the EMM-3? The fan on the furnace does work when initiated from one of the two thermostats in the house.

Another question would be why does Test/Reset mode only open the solenoid when Blower Activation is set to ON on the humidistat? Shouldn't I be able to just turn that switch to OFF to bypass the problem I'm having? Thanks!
 
  #8  
Old 03-27-11, 01:58 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Is the outdoor sensor in use? (sorry if I missed it on the post)

If so, take an OHM reading and match it to the chart, and see if that close to what your outdoor temps are.

if it matches what is the outdoor temps.
 
  #9  
Old 03-28-11, 07:19 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Jay11J,

Outdoor sensor is in use and I am getting the correct OHM reading from that temperature sensor.

hvactechfw,

I believe I have fixed this thanks to your persistence. I was powering the humidistat R and C from the 24v transformer mounted to the outside of my furnace. I moved that connection to the furnace control board and IT WORKS!

One problem that I still had was during the Extended Blower run I had the furnace fan but lost power to the humidifier solenoid. I changed where I was getting my power for the humidistat based on a different post of yours that I found. Things seem to be working great. Thanks for all your help!!!
 
  #10  
Old 03-28-11, 07:22 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
you lost power because the HUM should only run when the furnace is heating and they way I showed you to wire was on a switched terminal.
 
  #11  
Old 03-29-11, 08:41 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Are you saying that I wired the humidifier incorrectly or I was getting the results that I should be expecting? I thought the intent of the extended blower feature of the Aprilaire 60 was to activate the humidistat at the end of a heating cycle and use the fan to continue to add humidity into the house? The way I had it wired I was getting the fan but not the humidifier.
 
  #12  
Old 03-29-11, 08:52 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
You were getting the correct results. IMO. The humidistat should not control the fan to add humidity, and should the humidifier should only be active during a call for heat, the reason for this is so that the water panel does not scum up. By limiting the time that the Hum is operating you allow time for the water panel to dry instead of allowing for algae and other biologicals to start growing on the panel. I wire all my humidifiers to run only with a call for heat. this also keeps the hum from operating during A/C.
 
  #13  
Old 03-29-11, 08:58 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wouldn't the Aprilaire 60 keep the fan blowing forever? I thought that was the feature that differentiated the Aprilaire 58 and 60 model humidistat.

I can got back and rewire how I have the humidistat wired but wouldn't just turning off the Blower Activation switch have the same effect?
 
  #14  
Old 03-29-11, 08:59 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
yes it would, however the other way to wire is a fail safe against the hum coming on during fan operation
 
  #15  
Old 04-05-11, 09:06 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
hvactechfw,

I ran several tests on my configuration. First, I turned off the Blower Activation to confirm that particular feature was diabled. Check! Second, I confirmed that the temperature gauge would disable the system at temperatures above 60. Check!

I am confident that I can call this project a wrap. I appreciate your help!!!
 
  #16  
Old 04-05-11, 09:17 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
sounds good.......no problem!!
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: