wiririg of 6 year old aprilaire 700 to new ruud rgrm-10e furnace

Old 04-01-11, 11:28 AM
D
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
wiririg of 6 year old aprilaire 700 to new ruud rgrm-10e furnace

All original wiring to odt,solenoid valve are the same, 120v for humidifier is plugged into same circuit feeding the furnace{all the time}, I had the installer give me 24v off r&c in the furnace to feed the humidifier contoller{not digital}, unit does not work,, it will work only in test mode if I hook up to a separate 24v transformer, I have not cut the controller into return yet, wanted to wait to see if wiring issue is resolved, I am an electrician.

Old 04-02-11, 06:16 AM
What model is the humidistat? Aprilaire has a few non-digital display model out there.

Outdoor sensor tied to it?

Old 04-02-11, 07:57 AM
D
I did not see a number on my humidistat, but looking at the parts sites, it looks like a model 56. Outdoor sensor is tied into it, and resistance check per troubleshooting manual was okay. I looked at external hookups for my new furnace[humidifier, air cleaner], they both are showing line voltage connections. Like I said before, only way I have seen it run since new furnace was installed, is with an external 24v hookup, no connection to furnace, and then only in test mode. Remember I not cut the humidistat into duct yet, but I didn't think that would matter. I need to be connected so humidistat senses furnace on, and connection to furnace R & C gives me 24v but nothing working. Any help would be appreciated, I have no problem calling my installer back, but he wanted to sell me a new unit back when they put it in. I have to respect my warranty also, thanks.

Old 04-02-11, 09:18 AM
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Old 04-02-11, 09:57 AM
Also, make sure the mode switch is set to "Power" humidifier.

Old 04-02-11, 10:46 AM
D