Honeywell HE360 Wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-31-11, 09:41 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Honeywell HE360 Wiring

Installed a Honeywell HE360 over the weekend, and in spite of the lack of useful diagrams/instructions regarding wiring, I thought I had hooked up properly. However, the second I plug in the unit (simple 120 volt plug), the water starts flowing, regardless of if the furnace is blowing or not, and does not stop until I unplug. I contacted Honeywell customer service and spoke with a "technician" for about 40 minutes, only to be even more confused, particularly about my wiring. From what I can gather from other posts, I either have it wired incorrectly or I have a bad water flow solenoid. I have attached a pic of the components
- Humidistat - red wire on post to yellow humidifier, red wire on other post to pressure switch, 2 white wires connected with nut.
That's all I'm sure of now that I'm second guessing, etc. I guess my main confusion may be at the pressure switch and the 2 yellow wires from the humidifier.

Any help would be great - thanks in advance.

Steve
 
  #2  
Old 10-31-11, 04:08 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
we did not get your pic. please post the URL and I will then transfer that to show up on the forum so we can help you further. Please post the make and model # of your furnace.
 
  #3  
Old 10-31-11, 04:23 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Diagram

 

Last edited by hvactechfw; 10-31-11 at 04:39 PM.
  #4  
Old 10-31-11, 04:41 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
so how do you have it installed now? What is your make and model # of your furnace?
 
  #5  
Old 10-31-11, 05:23 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It's a York Diamond 80 - I guess I didn't think that was relevant since I didn't connect any wiring directly to furnace. Here's what I have.
At Humidifier - red from humidistat to 1 yellow, and red from pressure switch to other yellow. White wires connected to each other with wire nut.
At Humidistat - Red wire from humidifier connected to 1 post, red wire from pressure switch connected to other post. White wires connected together with wire nut.
At Pressure Switch - Red wires from both humidifier and humidistat connected at "no". White wires from both humidifier and humidistat connected to "nc". This is where I think I'm messed up.

Also, humidifier fan does go on and off appropriately when furnace blower is on.

Thanks
 
  #6  
Old 10-31-11, 07:09 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
why are you using a pressure switch?!

does your furnace control board have HUM terminals? I'm pretty sure it does, but not sure as you did not post a furnace model number.
 

Last edited by hvactechfw; 10-31-11 at 07:38 PM.
  #7  
Old 10-31-11, 07:13 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here a drawing on how it should be done.. The "sail switch is your pressure switch.

 
  #8  
Old 10-31-11, 07:21 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
i would prefer to not use the pressure (sail) switch.
 
  #9  
Old 10-31-11, 07:32 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I agree, what is the full model # on the furnace?
 
  #10  
Old 11-01-11, 06:00 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
First off, thanks to all for not pointing out my stupidity...yet. Model # is P3HUC16N09201A - I went with the pressure switch as that came with the unit and as a novice, I assumed that was the way to go. Here is the installation manual: http://customer.honeywell.com/techli...0s/69-1107.pdf
What Jay has drawn up doesn't resemble Honeywell's, but I definitely trust your opinion, so I'll give it a try. So no wiring between humidistat and humidifier, right? Lastly, does that stray wire nut at the top of the diagram mean anything?

Thanks
 
  #11  
Old 11-01-11, 06:16 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
did you look on the furnace control board for HUM terminals? I'll check by the furnace model, but cant always access york info right away.
 
  #12  
Old 11-01-11, 06:39 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Looked your furnace up, and you do have 120v HUM on the board..

We can bypass the pressure switch.


WIth this HUM on the board, we can wire in single outlet plug in and plug the 360 into this.

 
  #13  
Old 11-01-11, 07:00 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
not to one up you, jay, but I think this is easier to read/ understand

 
  #14  
Old 11-06-11, 07:39 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Finally got around to addressing the wiring. Since I already had the pressure switch installed, I did not go with the direct wiring to the furnace - I think that may have really tested my patience with my limited skills. Bottom line, I wired per your diagram Jay and things seemed to work. However, my original problem with the water flowing regardless of whether the blower was on or not was still occurring. Took a look at the wires in the connecting harness and they were incorrect - blue was not going to blue, etc. Just did not feel like rewiring the harness, etc., so took back the main unit to Lowes and had them give me one from another box with the correct wiring - Voila! Works as it is supposed to now. With the shoddy wiring, confusing instructions, and absolutely horrible customer service, I will not be purchasing another Honeywell product anytime soon.

Thanks for all your assistance - you are all a great help. Time for a beer and football. Take care - Steve
 
  #15  
Old 11-10-11, 04:28 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Solenoid remains open/lets water run

I also had problem with wiring harness (blue went to red). Rather than bother with the good folks at Lowe's and Honeywell's rep in India I simply inverted the wiring harness and cut two v-shaped notches in the plastic housing using my exacto knife. It was easy enough to do (just a few minutes) and since the piece is symmetrical it fit perfectly in the inverted position. Voila!!! Everything is working just as it should for now and hopefully will provide many years of carefree service. Doesn't say much for the QC program at Honeywell.
 
  #16  
Old 11-10-11, 05:41 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What wires are we talking about? I will have to open a box at work. (I work at Home Depot) and see if they have this issue.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: