Replacing an old Aprilaire 110 questions.

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-25-12, 08:00 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Replacing an old Aprilaire 110 questions.

Ok, I'll try and be as thorough as possible with information.

Home is around 30 years old, square footage is around 4000 square feet. It has two furnaces, 1 for main floor, 1 for second story. Both cold air returns are connected to a junction that pass through 1 filter, which is one of those big accordion style aprilaire filters(pain in butt to change).

Current humidifier is an an Aprilaire 110 which is a powered unit. A few years ago it just started buzzing and wouldn't stop so I just unplugged it. Tired of the static cling shirts every winter so I'm replacing it.

Both furnaces have been replaced in the last 7 or 8 years so controls are there with 24v power supply(transformer not needed).

I came across a 'good deal' on an Aprilaire 600 with the automatic digital controls($125). This is a bypass model versus the power model I had. The 110 was hooked to the main floor out hot side. It's also hooked to the hot water supply. Of course I may have to redo the copper line because it may not reach the other side that the feed is now on.

I've seen comments both ways about installing the bypass style.

If my research is correct, I remove the 110 hardware repair the hole to adjust for the new size then put the new 600 in it's place. Likely patching the existing hole then cutting into the new patch. it's in a 'furnace room' so not a whole of exposed area since the whole basement is a rec room.

I will then have to add 6" duct from the bypass outlet on the new unit to the return supply(where the filter is located). I also need to add in the controller by making a 3/4" hole around 6" from the humidifier unit. Wire it up for power, etc.

Never done one of these before and since it's changing from one style to another I'm just trying to make sure I've got my ducks in a row before I attempt to tackle it.

Thanks in advance for any advice or corrections in my statements.
 
  #2  
Old 01-27-12, 08:43 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Put the humidistat 6" above the bypass opening on the return duct.
 
  #3  
Old 01-28-12, 10:19 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Wiring will be different as well. Let us know when you are ready to tackle that.
 

Last edited by hvactechfw; 01-29-12 at 04:35 PM.
  #4  
Old 01-29-12, 04:14 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
well I'm wiring into a Trane 80 so it has the humidifier controls. It was really cold this weekend so I skipped installing it. Last thing I need to do is take a chance of blowing up the controls on a weekend where the daytime highs are in the mid 20's.
 
  #5  
Old 01-29-12, 07:03 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What's the full model # on the furnace?
 
  #6  
Old 01-29-12, 08:09 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
trane xr80

TUD080C936K2
 
  #7  
Old 01-31-12, 05:59 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
What's the model # on the control? There are a couple diffrent models out there.
 
  #8  
Old 01-31-12, 06:40 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
what is the model number of the new humidistat?
 
  #9  
Old 02-01-12, 07:16 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
new humidistat doesn't have a part # that I can see anywhere, just says Automatic on the top

As for control board on the furnace

White Rodgers, X-C D341396P01 sticker says replace with CNT03076. Already have spade connections on the main board that lead up to the upper half of the furnace that looks like it goes into another small box that's covered. Haven't removed it yet to verify that its the place where it's terminated.
 
  #10  
Old 02-01-12, 07:26 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
1.

or

2.


?
 
  #11  
Old 02-01-12, 07:45 PM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
#1 is the one I got with the new unit
 
  #12  
Old 02-01-12, 07:51 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts


primary side of transformer goes to HUM and neutral on control board.
 
  #13  
Old 02-06-12, 10:01 AM
R
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thanks, now i just need to find a free afternoon to install this sucker.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: