humidifier wiring

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-04-12, 12:40 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
humidifier wiring

I've been following several threads with a diagram like you have below they have all been really helpful! I had trouble with the pressure switch I assumed it was the variable flow (Infinity Carrier) model. The unit worked well if I blew into the tubes manually to trigger the switch. So I tried wiring it directly to the board as you described. Still no water flowing through the humidifier.

I know the t-stat is not ideal for the unit....its a honeywell.

T-Stat goes to W1 and Y2. leaving W2 and Y1 unused on the furnace board (also has red to R and Green to G on both furnace and t-stat).

I've wired the humidifier (white) to COM and (red) to DHUM. There are two wires on COM and two on Y2 (the second set lead to the air conditioner unit outside).

Do you have suggestions for getting the dehumidifier to run? I've double checked water supply, I've cranked the heat and humidity settings.
 
  #2  
Old 02-04-12, 07:16 PM
Jay11J's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Rochester, Minnesota
Posts: 18,427
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You have it on the wrong port. You want it on the HUM on the board.

Do you have extra wires in the wall? You should hook up W2 to get full affecet of the staging on that furnace.
 
  #3  
Old 02-04-12, 07:19 PM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
I have created your own thread to avoid confusion.
 
  #4  
Old 02-04-12, 11:44 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring Humidifier to Carrier Circuit Board



In the photo I've marked the only area where I can see an HUM....it is not clearly marked as 24V like the line of 8 ports with screws.

Is this where the red wire goes? I will need a female clip to match?
 
  #5  
Old 02-05-12, 05:45 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
you need to verify what voltage is at that terminal. This can be done by giving us the make and model of the equipment. Or by use of a volt meter it can be determined while the unit is heating. Also, it would be nice to know what model humidifier you are installing as well as what humidistat you are using.
 
  #6  
Old 02-05-12, 08:11 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thought I included more detail than I did.

Furnace is Carrier Infinity 58MVP100-20
Installed a Honeywell 220 humidifier with the included humidistat from the box.

Run by a honeywell programmable t-stat, CT3500A4453.

Your help has been valuable. Thanks.
 
  #7  
Old 02-05-12, 08:28 AM
hvactechfw's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,244
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
  #8  
Old 02-05-12, 03:05 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
That's got it. Working well...thanks for the help and for being so quick. I've never used the forum before but I will be back and am now more versed in the on-line rules.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: