Nest Thermostat with GeneralAire Humidifier

Old 11-05-12, 04:37 PM
S
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Nest Thermostat with GeneralAire Humidifier

I searched through many of the threads on the forums regarding installation of the Nest 2.0 thermostat with a whole home humidifier setup. I saw the schematic posted by one member here, and although it was very helpful, I am still in need of some help (I am very new to HVAC, thermostats, humidifiers, etc.).

There are two wires (red and black) that connect to a metal box inside my humidistat:

Name:  IMG_1040.jpg
Views: 11761
Size:  33.4 KB

The same two wires connect to what I assume is the solenoid on the humidifier attached to my furnace:

Name:  IMG_1041.jpg
Views: 9118
Size:  24.4 KB

Based on some of the replies to previous posts I assume that I need to install a relay, however I am not sure exactly how to do this. I would appreciate if someone could point me in the right direction, ie. which wires to attach to the relay, if I should attach one of them to the C on the Nest, etc. Again, I have seen the schematic but I must say I am struggling to understand how it applies to my system. Additionally, I was hoping if someone could tell me which relay would be recommended, and where I could purchase one. Below is a picture of my Nest wiring:

Name:  IMG_1042.jpg
Views: 22074
Size:  25.8 KB

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Last edited by Stu42; 11-05-12 at 06:40 PM.
Old 11-05-12, 06:30 PM
Received 4 Upvotes on 4 Posts
before we go ANY further we need more info. What schematic are you referring to? What is the model number of your humidifier, what is the model number and make of your furnace?

Your picture did not show up. Can you post a link to it?

Old 11-05-12, 06:48 PM
S
Thanks very much for the response! Sorry about the pictures, they showed up in my browser so I assumed they were inserted correctly. I updated the original post, so hopefully you should be able to see them now!