Aprilaire 600 wiring - A50 relay needed?

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-28-13, 05:33 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 84
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 600 wiring - A50 relay needed?

A few years ago, I asked this question in the forum here:
http://www.doityourself.com/forum/hu...l-furnace.html

I never purchased a humidifier, but I'm seriously thinking about purchasing the Aprilaire 600 soon that includes the Model 60 T-stat. It was recommended that I install the A50 relay with my furnace....since all the wire connections for the Model 60 are available on my furnace, is the A50 relay still needed???




Here is the wiring for my furnace. Since the blower wires (white, blue, black) are already wired to a relay, is there still a need for the A50 relay?. You can also see the furnace has all of the Model 60 wire connections on the transformer (Y, G, W, C, R). This may also allow me to skip installing the transformer that comes with the 600.
Name:  furnace_wiring.jpg
Views: 13646
Size:  43.2 KB


Is the relay in the diagram the A50?.. or the relay in the wiring diagram above?.... This diagram isn't too specific (for me anyway)....
Name:  humid_wiring.jpg
Views: 3898
Size:  21.3 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-02-13, 04:48 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 84
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
After some reading... I decided to get the A50 relay since there isn't a HUMM or ACC connection on the furnace. I didn't even see a control board, just a whats in the schematics above. The 600 Humidifier is here as well, so I will be ready to install very soon.

First I want to check to see if I can 24v on the transformer with the W and C wires correct?...


Thanks,

jnt412
 
  #3  
Old 11-02-13, 01:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,646
Received 1,167 Votes on 1,082 Posts
The fan relay currently in your furnace only activates in FAN ON mode or A/C. (hi speed fan)
The fan/limit switch turns the blower on for heating.

The W and C terminals will activate your new relay only. You can not obtain 24vac there.
You could get 24vac from R and C but not knowing the wattage of the transformer in your system that can be risky.

That's why a separate 24vac transformer is normally used. On furnaces that have a HUM terminal they tell you how much wattage is available for humidifier use. Your furnace doesn't tells us that.
 
  #4  
Old 11-03-13, 08:51 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 84
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Voltage readings on R and C:

27.2v - when the furnace is off
26.6v - when the furnace is on (heat call).

It seems R and C from the ADHC (t-stat) can be wired to R and C on the furnace.

The transformer that came with the Humidifer, I can wire the 120 side to the black/white wires from the junction box and for the 24v side.... one wire goes to a soleniod wire and the other wire from the transformer goes to the H terminal on the ADHC..


Is this correct?..
 
  #5  
Old 11-11-13, 12:18 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 84
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Since I have been looking at wiring for powered humidifiers/wiring.. I may have confused the wiring for the 600 to my oil furnace. Feel free to advice...


1. Install transformer that came with 600
a. 120v side wired to junction box (black/black, white/white)
b. 24v side wired to R and C on Humidstat 60
2. Install A50 relay
a. Wrap blower motor common wire around relay bracket
b. Connect A50 relay wire to H terminal on Humidstat
c. Connect other A50 relay wire to soleniod on 600

Rest of wiring:

1. Connect other soleniod wire to H on Humidstat 60
2. Connect W from Humidstat 60 to W on furnace.
NOTE - House Thermostate "W" wire is connected to the burner... not the W on furnace transformer
3. Connect Gf on Humidstat 60 to G on furnace
4. Jumper G and Gf on Humidstat 60


This install should allow the 600 to turn on automatically (with the blower) when the humidity is low.


Please advise...

Thanks,


jnt412
 
  #6  
Old 11-15-13, 10:36 AM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 84
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJmax????? Jay11J???

you there...
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: