TrueEase HE250 + Nest Wiring + Trane XV90

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-07-13, 07:02 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
TrueEase HE250 + Nest Wiring + Trane XV90

Hello all,

I want to hook up a Honeywell TrueEase HE250 to my Nest and my Trane XV90. I wanted to confirm the wiring diagram.

Name:  NestTrueEase.jpg
Views: 21642
Size:  39.1 KB

I won't be connecting an AFS (air-flow switch) since the nest is smart enough to figure that out.

And where should I get 24V (15VA)? From the furnace or from a separate transformer? I want the humidifier to run with fan + heat or just fan.

Thank you!

PS. The original image is attached and was taken from here:
https://customer.honeywell.com/resou.../69-2413EF.pdf
 
Attached Images  
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-08-13, 02:08 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,118
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
The wiring diagram is ok.

To be safe.... a separate 24vac transformer is suggested.
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-13, 02:57 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome. Thanks PJ. Out of curiosity, do you know why they had a common wire on the humidifier side? (Original diagram)
 
  #4  
Old 12-08-13, 03:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,118
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Ummm.... you sort of lost me.

A common connection is needed as well as the * from the Nest.
 
  #5  
Old 12-09-13, 09:44 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok. Sorry about that

So I attached two pictures to my original post:

The first picture is the picture I made that has the Nest on it.

The second picture is the original picture from the manual (no Nest). My new question is about this second picture. It has a wire going to the "EQUIPMENT" C terminal on the humidifier. I assume it is a common but I can't figure out what it is for and if I need it. I have reattached this picture below with the wire in question circled in red.

Name:  Screen Shot 2013-12-07 at 7.12.29 PM.jpg
Views: 1974
Size:  39.9 KB

My only guess is that it can act as a switch if the air flow sensor (AFS) detected air flow. But I won't have an AFS so I assume I can just leave that "EQUIPMENT" C disconnected. So my question is, is that "EQUIPMENT" C important for my setup? Or can I leave it disconnected like I was planning?
 

Last edited by Daniel9; 12-09-13 at 10:09 AM.
  #6  
Old 12-09-13, 09:52 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
To further clarify here is a picture with the Nest and the EQUIPMENT C terminal hooked up.

Name:  NestTrueEase_v3.jpg
Views: 5333
Size:  35.8 KB

So to reiterate, my question is, can I get rid of that wire? (If it has to be there, what does it do?) (See post #5 for the picture the Honeywell manual has... it's possible I drew that wire in the wrong place.)
 

Last edited by Daniel9; 12-09-13 at 10:08 AM.
  #7  
Old 12-09-13, 10:07 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,118
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
I'm pretty sure that common is only needed if you use any of the other connections in the "equipment" box. That would be like R and C or G and C. You aren't using those connections.

Hope I didn't confuse the issue.
 
  #8  
Old 12-09-13, 10:47 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I think you are exactly right. I just remembered that the manual gives a description of those terminals. Here is what it said:

C: Common. Needed for Gt or W input. Connect to system C.


So for future reference, this is the set up I will be using for the Honeywell TrueEase HE250 with my Nest.

Name:  NestTrueEase.jpg
Views: 3004
Size:  39.9 KB

I seriously doubt I'll have any problems, but if I do, I'll report back.

Thanks a million PJ.
 

Last edited by Daniel9; 12-09-13 at 11:19 AM.
  #9  
Old 12-20-14, 10:26 AM
R
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: US
Posts: 85
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did this work for you? I need to connect the same humidifier to an ecobee3 thermostat which has a similar wiring configuration as the Nest. Having a hard time. I am going to try your setup. Did you use the external transformer to power the unit or are you using the furnace to power the he250?
 
  #10  
Old 12-20-14, 10:50 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,118
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
There are several variations of the above diagram that will work. The one posted here will work fine. I highly recommend using the separate transformer for the HE250.

If you were set on using the furnace transformer then it needs to be a 40 watt model or larger.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: