Humidifier wiring, does this look right???

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-15-14, 01:34 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Humidifier wiring, does this look right???

Name:  humid.jpg
Views: 1013
Size:  27.0 KB
I recently moved into a new house (to me) with a humidifier attached to the furnace and Im unsure if the wiring was done correctly. Some of the other wiring in the house was not done very well so this is why I ask. As it is the wiring looks like in the photo above. Does this look right? Would it not make more sence to have it wired so the humidifier turns on with furnace instead of running constantly? am I missing something here? Thanks.
Rick
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-15-14, 01:40 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The humidistat is also attached to the furnace a couple feet away in the same manner as the pic. I plugged the humidifier in to the wall socket and turned the humidistat up to 50% and the water started to circulate through the humidifer, through the filter and into the drain. The furnace did not turn on.
 
  #3  
Old 09-15-14, 09:03 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,693
Received 1,174 Votes on 1,089 Posts
Welcome to the forums Mr Death :EEK:

Yes that picture is one way to wire it but not very effective. You could add a mechanical sail switch that mounts in the ductwork and senses air movement to only allow the humidifier to work when the blower is running.

If you post the make and model number of your furnace.... I'm sure we could come up with a better way of wiring it.
 
  #4  
Old 09-16-14, 03:17 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for the reply. I will post pics up tonight of the humidifier. There is no brand on the unit so hopefully you guys will be able to tell what type it is. The sail switch seems like a great idea.
 
  #5  
Old 09-16-14, 03:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,693
Received 1,174 Votes on 1,089 Posts
I need a make and model of your furnace.... not your humidifier.

A sail switch is an easy way for you to do the wiring but it's not quite as neat as wired into the furnace directly.

Amazon: /Honeywell-S688A1007-Sail-Switch/dp/B000I0UT1W
 
  #6  
Old 09-17-14, 02:03 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: canada
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here are some pix as promised. I will let you know the brand of furnace later when I get back from work. Thanks.
Name:  humidifier.jpg
Views: 887
Size:  23.3 KB
the yellow wires in the drawing are white
Name:  2014-09-17 11.41.46.jpg
Views: 617
Size:  29.5 KB
Name:  2014-09-17 11.41.04.jpg
Views: 558
Size:  45.5 KB
Name:  2014-09-17 11.42.05.jpg
Views: 695
Size:  36.7 KB
Name:  2014-09-17 11.43.09.jpg
Views: 544
Size:  37.4 KB
Name:  2014-09-17 11.44.21.jpg
Views: 712
Size:  30.6 KB
 
  #7  
Old 09-17-14, 05:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,693
Received 1,174 Votes on 1,089 Posts
I found the HSA-044 but not the 043. Looks like a heat sensing module to activate humidifier.

The following should be the link for your Hamilton humidifier system. The control shown is the 044 but may be just like the 043. Look it over and see if it helps here.

Hamilton home products/vb/Repository/InstallationManuals_PartsLists/12HF/12HF-Install-NEW.pdf
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: