Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Heating, Cooling, Air Conditioning, Ventilation and T-Stat Controls > Humidifiers and Dehumidifiers
Reload this Page >

Aprilaire model 60 control not working in test mode or when humidity level set

Aprilaire model 60 control not working in test mode or when humidity level set

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-02-14, 10:17 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire model 60 control not working in test mode or when humidity level set

This model 700 Aprilaire humidifier with model 60 control worked fine two winters until this one. I installed a new control and new temperature sensor which did not solve the problem. With blower activation switch off and furnace running: Turning knob to test position the green light flashes and then 3 blue lights flash but the water never flows through the solenoid and the humidifier fan does not run and error code r1 appears.

With blower activation switch on and furnace running or not running: the solenoid valve clicks and water runs and humidifier blower runs. But I do NOT use it with the blower switch on and it is not wired for that feature.

If I set the unit for manual operation it will not operate at all with blower activation switch off but will with blower activation switch on. It will control the water solenoid with the humidifier knob and when the furnace shuts down the humidifier blower shuts off but the solenoid for water stays on.

What could the problem be? The wiring to the humidifier control is the same as the previous control. The furnace circuit board was changed last February by my dealer but I can not recall if I ran the humidifier after that occurred.Name:  2014-12-02 13.15.30web.jpg
Views: 7123
Size:  42.3 KBName:  2014-12-02 13.14.45web.jpg
Views: 7055
Size:  27.0 KBName:  2014-12-02 13.16.15web.jpg
Views: 6567
Size:  16.3 KBName:  2014-12-02 13.16.43web.jpg
Views: 6630
Size:  34.6 KBName:  2014-12-02 13.14.34web.jpg
Views: 6535
Size:  25.0 KB
 

Last edited by fixyahelp; 12-02-14 at 12:01 PM. Reason: added pictures
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-02-14, 06:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

When I wire the model 60 I only use a connection to the W terminal for activation. I don't use a G connection at all. Using the W connection only allows the humidifier to work in heating mode only.

Name:  700A humidifier.jpg
Views: 7953
Size:  30.6 KB
 
  #3  
Old 12-03-14, 10:20 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Tried Removing G terminal wire

Today I removed the G terminal wire at the Aprilaire 60 control and the humidifier acted the same as previously described. I traced the W terminal white wire back to the furnace panel and I see it is connected to a W2 terminal. A different white wire (not from Aprilaire 60 control) is connected to the W1 terminal. I am guessing that this has to do with the 2 speed blower this furnace has. Normally it runs at a lower speed all the time but as it gets colder it will occasionally speed up temporarily to blow more heat around the house. Should the humidifier control be connected to W2?
 
  #4  
Old 12-03-14, 10:19 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,111
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Move the W wire to W1. That should take care of the problem.
 
  #5  
Old 12-04-14, 10:43 AM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I moved the W wire to W1 in the furnace panel and that fixed the problem. Thank you so much for the help!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: