Humidifier wiring and change operation.

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-08-14, 08:21 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Humidifier wiring and change operation.

I have a humidifier on my LP furnace. When the furnace comes on it works as it should.

In the winter when it gets real cold I also heat with wood. This makes the humidity to low. My T-stat has a option where the blower will turn on for 15min once a hour to refresh the air. I would like to put the humidifier on the blower signal so that it will run when it is on the refresh setting.

As on now the humidifier wires are red and white. The red wires is on W/for heat and the white wire is on C for common. can I hook the red wire to G/fan? I am not sure whats the best way to get the humidifier to come on with the blower motor? Thanks for any help
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-08-14, 09:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,014
Received 1,103 Votes on 1,023 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Normally we don't allow the thermostat to power the humidifier directly as many thermostats aren't rated for the additional load.

If your unit is currently working OK on the W (heat) terminal then it should also be fine on the G (fan) terminal. If your system has A/C then you'll need to disconnect that wire in the summer.
 
  #3  
Old 12-08-14, 09:48 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
The humidifier is controlled by the humidistat. The red and white wires are connected to the furnace computer, on the furnace computer the red is connected to the W and the white wire is connected to the C.

When I put the red humidifier wire on G it will not come on. Its only working on W. I am guessing it needs to be wired different to get the humidifier to work with blower only?

Thanks for the welcome and any help.
 
  #4  
Old 12-08-14, 10:53 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,014
Received 1,103 Votes on 1,023 Posts
Did you try putting your thermostat into FAN ON mode ?
If the thermostat turns the blower on every 15 minutes..... then the G terminal must be energized every 15 minutes.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: