Installing aprilaire model 60

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-09-14, 06:42 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Installing aprilaire model 60

I have a Carrier 93% efficiently furnace with an aprilaire 600 humidifier. It's currently hooked up to a manual humidistat and I want to change it to an automatic humidistat using the aprilaire model 60. I have a few questions about the change over....

1. The wiring looks like it should work however, I currently don't have a separate 24v transformer. It's getting all it's power from the control board in the furnace. Do I have to run a separate transformer? Or can I just use the one on the furnace. I will only run the automatic humidifier when the furnace is on.

2. Can I install an automatic temperature probe in my PVC intake pipe. My intake and exhaust are exiting through my roof hence the furnace is on the second floor of my home.

Thanks in advance....
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-09-14, 10:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,034
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

The diagram below allows you to use the furnace transformer to run the humidistat and the humidifier. You should confirm that your furnace uses at least a 40 watt transformer.

The temperature probe needs to be outside.

Name:  600A_T.jpg
Views: 727
Size:  31.4 KB
 
  #3  
Old 12-10-14, 06:32 AM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJmax,

Thanks for the schematic. I'll check on the 40 watt transformer.
I thought I read somewhere I could mount my temperature probe
In my cold air intake pipe. If not, do you recommend I mount it
To come out of my exterior soffit on the second floor. That part of
My house faces east.

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 12-10-14, 09:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,034
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
I've never mounted the sensor in the return line so you are on your own there.
Exiting at the second floor soffit would be fine.
 
  #5  
Old 12-10-14, 03:18 PM
V
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, thanks for all your help. This site is awesome!!!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: