Humidifier continuously turns on then off

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-15-15, 08:05 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Humidifier continuously turns on then off

I have the typical Honeywell humidicalc+ unit. It is in a 1+ year old house and doesn't seem to be working the same as it did the previous winter. It only seems to function when the thermostat is set to run in the heat pump mood but not in regular heat mode. Also when it is in heat pump mode, the controller on the furnace turns on and then immediately turns back off, even when the dial is turned all the way up. There is some water getting through because I can see that the drain from the humidifier has moisture in it.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-15-15, 08:45 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I'm not totally familiar with the humidicalc humidistat but will try to help you.

In checking on this unit I see it's designed to work with a single heat source and you appear to have two.

I need more information.
Based on your system it appears that the outside temperature sensor needs to be used.
Do you know if there is one connected to your h'stat ?
What is the regular heat mode you mentioned ?
Can you tell me how it's connected to your air handler/furnace ?
If not maybe some pictures of the wiring at the control board ?
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-15, 06:52 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
PJ, thanks for helping. Here are some pictures I took. the the controller is a separate unit that mounts to the side of the furnace. the dial goes from 0-10 where zero is off and 10 is always on. One wire goes from the controller to the solenoid. One wire goes from the controller to a switch that is mounted inside the furnace. The last wire connects into the furnace directly (brown wire in the forefront).

When the furnace turns on, the controller has a light (top center) that will turn green when the humidifier is on. This is where i notice that it turns green for a second and then off. You can also here a pretty loud click from the solenoid, one for on and one for off.

i switched the heat source on the thermostat and it seems to now be doing the same on/off cycle regardless of heat source.
Name:  IMG_20150116_071045_165.jpg
Views: 105
Size:  20.0 KBName:  IMG_20150116_071103_798.jpg
Views: 99
Size:  20.1 KBName:  IMG_20150116_071147_008.jpg
Views: 99
Size:  25.7 KBName:  IMG_20150116_071231_788.jpg
Views: 153
Size:  46.2 KB
 
  #4  
Old 01-16-15, 12:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
Ok.... thanks for the pictures.

You have one cable that connects the stat to the transformer for 24vac power.
You have a second cable that connects the stat to the solenoid.
Those are pretty much self explanatory.

It's the cable to the "switch" that I believe is where the problem lies. What kind of switch is that ? It could be a sail switch that monitors blower air or a current sensing switch that turns on when the blower motor is running.

Can you post a picture or find a model number on it ?
You should be able to just short those two wires together to activate the h'stat.
 
  #5  
Old 01-16-15, 09:05 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a picture of the tag and a picture of inside where it is mounted. Name:  IMG_20150116_222431_073.jpg
Views: 135
Size:  23.1 KBName:  IMG_20150116_222439_519.jpg
Views: 164
Size:  29.0 KB
 
  #6  
Old 01-17-15, 12:20 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,166
Received 1,114 Votes on 1,034 Posts
I misunderstood you previously.

You have one cable that connects the stat to the transformer for 24vac power.
You have a second cable that connects the stat to the solenoid.
Those are pretty much self explanatory.

I posted that above. The picture you just left is the transformer. What you were calling a switch was the transformer. The picture I can't fully see is the one of the control board where all the wires connect and the brown cable in the forefront connects.. It looks like white wire is on W terminal and red wire is on C terminal. Please confirm.

Do you have a voltmeter ? We're going to need to do some voltage checks.

Name:  calc.jpg
Views: 135
Size:  34.0 KB
 
  #7  
Old 01-17-15, 08:06 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Everything looks to be hooked up per the diagram.

I have a meter. Did a few quick checks. 24v is coming out of the transformer. All of the wires coming out of the stat have 24v too.
 
  #8  
Old 01-17-15, 08:34 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here is a video of what it is doing.
http://youtu.be/HF7m-y1WxJo
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: