Aprilaire 60 humidistat & Goodman GMH95 furnace

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-23-15, 01:25 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 60 humidistat & Goodman GMH95 furnace

Hi everyone,

I hope you all can help me a wiring an Aprileaire 60 humidistat.

I am installing an Aprilaire 500 bypass humidifier with the 60 humidistat. I have a Goodman GMH95 furnace.

I am done with all the mechanical stuff, but the wiring part really has me puzzled. Even after reading a lot of threads all over the web, I am still stumped! I will admit that I am pretty dense when it comes to electrical-type stuff and I really hope you guys can help me out...

So far, I've done the following:

(i) mounted the transformer on a junction box that turns the furnace on and off
(ii) connected the R and C on the humidistat to the R and C from the furnace.
(iii) connected the W on humidistat to the W from the furnace.
(iv) connected the two H terminals from the humidistat to the transformer and solenoid valve on the humidifier (H1-transformer-yellow wire, H2-yellow wire)
(v) connected the wires from the outdoor sensor to the ODT terminals on the humidistat

The problem is that the humidifier doesn't come on, even when I put it in the test mode.

Am I doing something obviously wrong or stupid? What specific voltages can I check to make sure that the wiring is correct?

I would greatly appreciate any help. Thank you!!!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-23-15, 01:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,170
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

I've posted my tried and true wiring that should be how you are wiring.

Does the humidistat light up ?
No.... check for 24vac coming from the furnace on R and C.

If it does light up.... check your new transformer for 24vac.
You need to measure 24vac on the humidifier solenoid.

Name:  500A and 600A.jpg
Views: 2338
Size:  33.1 KB
 
  #3  
Old 01-23-15, 06:53 PM
J
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you, PJMax! My wiring was just like in your diagram.

After I got home, I re-checked everything, and there was a loose connection at one of the H terminals. Phew! I fixed that and now everything works like it's supposed to.

Thank you again.
 
  #4  
Old 01-23-15, 07:36 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,170
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
You're welcome............ great news!
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: