Nest 2.0 & Aprilaire 800 Humidifier Wiring & Operation

Closed Thread

  #1  
Old 01-27-15, 02:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Nest 2.0 & Aprilaire 800 Humidifier Wiring & Operation

I plan on adding the Aprilaire 800 to my York Diamond 80 (circa 2001) and using my Nest v.2 T-Stat.
The Aprilaire comes with a humidistat which gets installed on the return side of the plenum, so do I still use this or do I use the Nest only? I'm confused with this.

I have purchased the relay, I have purchased 18/7 wire (I have only 18/4 in wall, so I'll have to replace it) and I have purchased the 800 (duh)

I have Y1, W1, G & RH connected now. No more wires are there, I ned to replace it with the 18/7 and then I plan on using this diagram, but I am not sure about the 800's humidistat and outdoor sensors. Do I set the 800 to manual mode and let Nest control it? Do I not install the outdoor sensors? Do I just use Nest to look at the humidity from he system and not be able to adjust it? How does the unit work together if wired in correctly? What benefit do we have by wiring the Nest with the 800 if the unit is automatic to begin with?

Does anyone have any more specific wiring diagrams as to what goes where? This sort of scares me since I've never done this before and have no idea how really the system works/operates, but am eager to learn with the community's help.

Name:  Nest W-Powered Humidifier.jpg
Views: 24983
Size:  18.3 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-27-15, 02:16 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
You won't need a humidistat. The nest is that control. I just posted a diagram in another post a little while ago. It's the same wiring you will use.

http://www.doityourself.com/forum/hu...5b-wiring.html
 
  #3  
Old 01-27-15, 05:58 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
So, how do I set he %RH in Nest v2 t-stat? Will it also calculate the exterior/outdoor temperature and correlate that algorithm to the 800?

https://nest.com/support/pro/article...t-up#hum-dehum
 
  #4  
Old 01-27-15, 06:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
I don't know much about the programming of them. I just install them..... no programming.
 
  #5  
Old 01-27-15, 06:35 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Just to confirm, install the relay to get it into 1 wire, which the gets connected to the * terminal on Nest. I also will use the C wire off of the relay as well.
This in conjunction with the other wires 4, will call for heat, fire up the condenser and fan.
Would I need to keep the fan on 'ON" all the time or can I only call for the Aprilaire 800's steam when the unit is blowing? This I think i the confusing part for me, If the Nest is calling for heat, the 800 will cut on to steam up the ducts, thus outputting condense heat in the house. If the unit is not calling for heat, then no steam...

Now, my fans are only on 2-1/2 to 4 hours a day, so I'd only be getting steam at that time.. Would I want to keep the fan on 24/7 ?
 
  #6  
Old 01-27-15, 06:42 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
With the nest you have the ability to set the programming so that the nest will turn on the blower and the humidifier with a call for humidity without the burner running.

Some thing like.... humidity with no heat.
 
  #7  
Old 01-27-15, 06:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks.. can you set the desired RH on the nest ? i.e. 45% RH and it will operate to that level?
 
  #8  
Old 01-27-15, 10:12 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
can you set the desired RH on the nest ? i.e. 45% RH and it will operate to that level?
I would hope so. You'll have to give it a try.
 
  #9  
Old 02-14-15, 07:40 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok, I almost did this, but they shipped me the wrong relay. I'll have to re-order the correct one.
I have a York Diamond 80 which uses the following control board p/n# 031-01267-001A http://www.amazon.com/031-01267-001A.../dp/B00LMJO824

The board has "HUM" and a fw other lugs on it. Would I be able to just utilize those terminals and connect the Aprilaire 800 to the v2 Nest? If so how would I wire this up is there a diagram to do so so I don't need a relay? What terminal number do I wire each wire to on the relay?
http://imgur.com/a/Q8ltS

Where do I tap the power from in order to power up the relay? What wires on my board?

I have the 18/7 ready to pull the wire in the wall to replace the 18/4 that is there now.
I talked to Aprilaire and they said that I don't need the Aprilaire 62 if I am using the Nest v2 since that has control over the humidifier. I'm going to assume that I use the common wire, even though most diagrams say "optional" on that schematic.

All the help in this wiring diagram would be great. I'm apprehensive to get this done, but feel that i'd accomplish a lot of savings by doing it myself.
 
  #10  
Old 02-14-15, 08:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts

You must follow this diagram. Your HUM terminal is a 24vac switched output. You can't connect this 24v to your already powered humidifier or you'll get smoke. A bypass humidifer can use the HUM terminal.

I recommend connecting C to the nest to eliminate any low battery issues.

What relay did you get ? Give me the part number. It may be fine. There are dozens that will work.
I'll help you out with the wiring colors.
 
  #11  
Old 02-14-15, 09:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I received the 90370 Supco. But I have that boxed up to go back and I just ordered the White Rodgers 90-290Q http://www.homedepot.com/p/White-Rod...290Q/203566124
I'm like a deer in headlights now. The 800 has 240v wiring, so it's self powered as you said. They suggested that anything connected to it is just a dry contact to kick the steam on. From what I gather and in speaking with Nest. The Nest V2 will tell the steam humidifier to turn on based on the outside temperature/humidity from the internet (not sure how it will know what the RH% is in my house though) and also it will kick the fan blower on to dispense the steam in the ductwork.
 
  #12  
Old 02-14-15, 10:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
The 90370 is a single pole double throw relay and would also work.

I work with predominantly Honeywell stats so I'm not entirely sure on the nest operation. The nest should monitor the inside humidity as well as outside air temp. In the programming you can tell the nest to operate the blower and humidifier regardless of heating.
 
  #13  
Old 02-14-15, 10:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, that's what they suggested it does do. I hope there is a built in humidistat in the Nest instead of using my outside RH% to complexly come up with an algorithm that it "thinks" is inside my house... How would the 90-290Q lugs get wired up to the system? I'm not sure on the actual wire cool to lug# on those. Whether it be the WR 90-290Q or the 6AZU2 relays...

Here is what I think it should be according to my investigation with the diagrams below/thread as well as your assistance. Does this look correct?

Lug 1 on 90-290Q to Common on HVAC Control Board
Lug 3 on 90-290Q to * on Nest v2
Lug 4 on 90-290Q to HUM 1 on Aprilaire 800
Lug 2 on 90-290Q to HUM 2 on Aprilaire 800

http://www.emersonclimate.com/Docume...Cat_pg_098.pdf

Name:  Nest W-Powered Humidifier.jpg
Views: 10130
Size:  19.9 KB
 

Last edited by JSmith856; 02-14-15 at 10:49 PM.
  #14  
Old 02-14-15, 10:52 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
The stat HAS TO monitor indoor humidity. There is no way it can determine it via the internet.

The thermostat wiring follows a certain color code. The humidifier does not. In my diagram I choose orange to connect the * to the relay and red and gray for wiring to the humidifier. You can use whatever colors you have and there is no polarity on the relay as we are working with AC voltage.

1 and 3 are the coil and 2 and 4 are the switch contact.

Name:  90290 relay.jpg
Views: 10804
Size:  20.0 KB

As long as the humidifier is connected to 2 and 4 you're set.
 
  #15  
Old 02-14-15, 11:17 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
This is exactly as I just discovered. Your input was greatly appreciated to assist me in this venture. Thank you very much for your correspondence!


Generically "Industrial" Relay 6AZU2 or White Rodgers 90-290Q.

Here is a diagram I made with the relay schematic. Please advise if this looks correct to you.
Is the Coil, being the 96969696 schematic on the relay which then goes to the control board of the furnace? While the |---/ /---| is the "NO/NC" dry contact?

I’ll pull a new 18/7 wire (since my existing wire is only 18/4) to the Nest from the York Diamond 80 control board #031-01267-001A.

I’ll connect the following:
Control Board ——->wire color ——->Nest 2.0 Terminal
R—>red—>RH Nest 2.0
G—>green—>G Nest 2.0
W1—>white—>w1 Nest 2.0
y1—>yellow—>y1 Nest 2.0
C—>blue—>C Nest 2.0 which taps before the Lug 3 on WR 90-290Q relay
Lug 1 on WR 90-290Q —->orange—> * on Nest 2.0

Lug 1 on White Rodgers 90-290Q goes to * on Nest 2.0
Lug 3 on White Rodgers 90-290Q goes to C on Nest 2.0
Lug 4 on White Rodgers 90-290Q goes to HUM on Aprilaire 800
Lug 2 on White Rodgers 90-290Q goes to HUM on Aprilaire 800


The other connection need to be from the relay to the HUM1/HUM2 on the Aprilaire 800. which are called the "load" or lugs 2/4 on the relay.

Sounds like we've got it!
 
  #16  
Old 02-15-15, 11:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
Looks like you have it all covered.
 
  #17  
Old 02-28-15, 08:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
All setup and working correctly. The configuration of the Nest setup allows for the humidifier to kick on when it calls for heat, or it allows you to set it up so that if the humidity is low it will just kick on the blower and steam humidifier w/o calling for heat. - this is exactly what I wanted. To have independent control over humidity AND heat.
Ok, so now my next venture. What about adding a DE humidifier to this setup? Is this an option? I was thinking the Aprilaire 1850 or larger, but how would this be wired (for when the AC is on in the summer) so that this works in conjunction with the humidifier (winter)
I'd want to humidify the air in the winter when the gas furnace is on and DEhumidify the air in the summer when the AC is on. Is this possible now that I've used the * terminal?
http://www.ntsupply.com/files/produc...all-manual.pdf
 
  #18  
Old 02-28-15, 09:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
The * can only be used for one function. You'd have to rewire and reprogram to use a dehumidifier.
 
  #19  
Old 02-28-15, 10:42 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
It would be so much easier if they let you asking the B/O or any of the un-used tremolos to a *1, *2, *3 etc.. I'm thinking EcoBee or Honeywell Lyric is looking much better.. plus I can control it with Control4 which is the only reason why I went with a Nest.
 
  #20  
Old 03-27-15, 07:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
HUM terminal 24v or 120v?

I have a similiar setup and I am trying to connect my nest 2.0 as well. The difference for me is the I have a Aprilaire 560 bypass Humidfier. What I don't understand is why if my current setup is connected to the HUM and N lead why does that connect to a transformer converting it to 24v? Do I really need the transformer, or can I remove that and connect the Nest directly to the HUM connection. I would like to be able to run the humidifier without heat, but that doesn't appear to work as the HUM is switched. Here is my diagram, any suggestions welcome.

Name:  Furnace wiring.jpg
Views: 11151
Size:  11.0 KB
 
  #21  
Old 03-27-15, 09:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
If your humidifier is a 2 wire setup (dry contact closure) and is self powered, you need a relay to covert the system to work with Nest V2.
You can program the Nest in Pro setup to turn on the fan when you want to have it blow humidity around the system instead of only adding humidity when the heat is being called for.
 
  #22  
Old 02-04-16, 07:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,227
Received 478 Votes on 448 Posts
There are many combinations of humidifiers and the nest thermostat. Use this thread fpr guidance but post your own thread with specifics..... like exactly which humidifier you have.

This thread will stay in our searchable archives.
 
Closed Thread

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are Off
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: