Wiring Honeywell HE240 Humidifer to a Goodman GMH95 Furnace

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-12-15, 09:36 AM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring Honeywell HE240 Humidifer to a Goodman GMH95 Furnace

Was needing some help wiring my new Honeywell HE240 Humidifier to my Goodman GMH95 furnace. My furnace manual says to take the yellow wire off of the blower pressure switch and to plug in a supplied brown wire and use a jumper to piggyback the yellow wire onto it (this will provide 24VAC to the humidifer). Does the brown wire coming off of the pressure switch go to the humidifier or humidistat? Thank you for any help!

Here is a link to the Goodman GMH95 Furnace Manual showing the 24V Humidifier Hookup Instructions:

G Eneral - Goodman GMH95 Installation Instructions Manual [Page 28]

Here is a link to the Honeywell HE240 Installation Manual:

https://customer.honeywell.com/resou.../69-2685ES.pdf
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-12-15, 11:14 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,034
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

You are just making a series loop. The order makes no difference and since it's AC there is no polarity.
 
  #3  
Old 11-12-15, 05:19 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you! Would it be better to bypass the solenoid on the humidifier? Ive read where some people have problems with the solenoid and bypass it.
 
  #4  
Old 11-12-15, 05:21 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,034
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
If you bypass the solenoid you'll get no water flow. That wouldn't be too effective.
 
  #5  
Old 11-12-15, 05:29 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I said that wrong. Ive read where you can wire the solenoid on the humidifier directly to the furnace control board so it comes on when the furnace comes on (some people have had problems with the reliability of the solenoid it seems). With this setup would the water run into the humidifier all the time when the furnace is running even if the humidistat isnt calling for it to humidify?
 
  #6  
Old 11-12-15, 05:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,034
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
No..... the pressure switch supplies the 24vac needed to open the solenoid to allow for water flow but the humidistat must be calling for humidity to complete the circuit. It is possible that the solenoid could become stuck open but that would be a part failure.... not a wiring issue.

Name:  HE-240.JPG
Views: 4716
Size:  33.1 KB
 
  #7  
Old 11-12-15, 05:52 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank you. Never installed one of these before and I'm trying to cover all my bases. You have been a great help!
 
  #8  
Old 11-12-15, 06:51 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 5
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Ok hopefully last question. Do I need to do anything special with the pressure switch built on the humidifier since I'm using the pressure switch from my furnace instead?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: