Need help reconnecting humidifier to furnace

Reply

  #1  
Old 12-27-15, 03:26 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help reconnecting humidifier to furnace

Hi,

I need help reconnecting the humidifier to the furnace. The old humidifier has 2 wires that go from the selenoid to a light switch and then 2 wires coming from the switch - I am not sure where to connect these 2 wires (one white, one black).

Humidifier - Generalaire (do not see a model # and appears to have a new selenoid.
Furnace - Bryant model #310AAV048135

Thank you.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12-27-15, 03:30 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

From the solenoid to a light switch or to an adjustable humidistat ?
 
  #3  
Old 12-28-15, 07:27 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sorry I meant to connect to humidifier to the furnace. We got a new furnace and the person did not reconnect the humidifier to the furnace circuit board.

I am not sure which terminals on the furnaces circuit board to connect the humidifier to?

I have read something about the C and W terminals, but we also have a HUM 0.5A max / 24 VAC.

I believe we have a 115v solenoid (it looks aftermarket). I will try to add pictures.

Thanks.

Tom
 
  #4  
Old 12-28-15, 08:10 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
You'll need a humidistat in the line to control humidity level.
The voltage will be on the solenoid. If it has two wires attached to it and they come directly out of the unit then it's most likely not a 120v solenoid.
 
  #5  
Old 12-28-15, 08:43 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
There is not a humidistat. It has a handle with a damper. It may be called a bypass humidifier?

The only thing written on the solenoid is the manufacturers name (Peter Paul ... Company). There is no voltage given (that I can see).

The solenoid looks like it is new (the humidifier looks old).

The reason I think it is a 115v solenoid is because when I look up the part online it looks like the following part:

General Aire 990-52 (115 volt)

Thank you.
 

Last edited by maizeykc; 12-28-15 at 08:47 AM. Reason: More info
  #6  
Old 12-28-15, 09:06 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
All the solenoids look similar. The 120v model may have a junction box connected to it for wiring. If that is the one you have then you need to have the humidifier with an AC plug on it. A 120v solenoid doesn't get connected directly to the furnace.

You will also need to get a humidistat otherwise your humidifier will always run when the blower is running.
 
  #7  
Old 12-28-15, 09:21 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I would like to avoid having to get a humidistat - is it possible to have it run when just the heat is running by connecting to the "W" terminal or "HUM"terminal?

There are 2 wires coming off the solenoid that connect to a junction box with a switch. Then there are 2 wires coming out of the junction box (one black wire and one white wire). I am trying to find out where to connect these wires on the furnace circuit board?

Thanks.

Tom
 
  #8  
Old 12-28-15, 10:09 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
The furnace connections are 24vac. You can't connect a 120v solenoid there.... it won't open.

All 120v solenoid units that I've worked on have a control board inside the unit with a relay and a power cord that plugs into a receptacle.
 
  #9  
Old 12-28-15, 10:55 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Perhaps it is a 24v solenoid. Is there a way to test?

If it is where do I connect the 2 wires?

Thanks.
 
  #10  
Old 12-28-15, 02:08 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Here are some photos if that helps.
 
Attached Images      
  #11  
Old 12-28-15, 02:12 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Hi - I posted some photos if that helps.

As you can see from the picture of the selenoid it looks a lot like this part from the manufacturer, which is 115v.

General Aire 990-52 Solenoid Valve Assembly 115 Volt
 
  #12  
Old 12-28-15, 02:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Pictures are good !

Try connecting the two wires from the humidifier to R and C at the thermostat terminal strip.

Post the model number off the control board too.
 
  #13  
Old 12-28-15, 02:34 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Does it matter if it is a 115v solenoid? (I just do not want to fry the board).

Does the white or black wire go to "C"?

Furnace model number - 310AAV048135

The numbers on the actual control board in the picture are
CEPL131012-20
CEBD431012-22A
HK42FZ0613215
 
  #14  
Old 12-28-15, 05:05 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Update

Hi,

I found out the solenoid is stamped with 120 volt.

Can I connect the wires to "C" or "R" still?

Thanks,

Tom
 
  #15  
Old 12-28-15, 05:14 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Connecting the solenoid to the control board will yield nothing. You can try it. You won't hurt anything and there is no polarity. White or black to R or C.

I'll look up the board and see what we can do.
 
  #16  
Old 12-28-15, 05:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Can you post a picture of this corner of your control board ?

Name:  aaa.jpg
Views: 388
Size:  53.1 KB

You can connect your white/neutral wire to any of the available neutral ports.
You can connect your black/hot wire to the terminal that is covered with the red cover.... EAC terminal.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 12-28-15 at 07:15 PM.
  #17  
Old 12-28-15, 06:56 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Picture of board

Here is a photo of the corner of the board. It looks very similar. Under the red dot is a male connection terminal (EAC - I think).

Also attached is the schematic from the furnace.

Thanks.

Tom
 
Attached Images   
  #18  
Old 12-28-15, 07:15 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
The pics were perfect.

I reused the picture in post #16.

You can connect your white/neutral wire to any of the available neutral ports.
You can connect your black/hot wire to the terminal that is covered with the red cover.... EAC terminal.
 
  #19  
Old 12-28-15, 07:19 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 11
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Schematic for the furnace circuit board
 
Attached Images  
  #20  
Old 12-28-15, 07:25 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Now he posts the wiring diagram. Name:  bravo-009.gif
Views: 222
Size:  761 Bytes

Yes. That matches what I posted in my picture. You're going to wire the humidifier as the EAC (electronic air cleaner). That terminal is live any time the blower is running.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: