Mounting humidifier over duct joint

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-03-16, 08:21 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Angry Mounting humidifier over duct joint

I picked up a Honeywell HE360A for our house with the intention of installing it myself. I went with the 360 for the fan due to the size of our house, vs using bypass which I don't think would have worked very well. I watched the video, opened the box, grabbed the template and went to find a place to mount it ... and there only spot that it might fit is too short.

Knowing not much about furnaces, it appears I have a high boy. There is a section of duct work that is 3" shorter than the template that uses an s-cleat joint to connect to another piece of duct work that has all the outgoing connections. In order to install the humidifier I would need to cut through this s-cleat joint. (Annoyingly, you can see a sheet that's been screwed in just above this joint where a humidifier used to be.)

Is that bad? Should I just go for it and use some putty/tape to ensure there's not a lot of leaking? I have plenty of room for a bypass humidifier, but with a 3,000+ sq.ft. house, I'm not sure that's going to cut it.

Name:  aa.jpg
Views: 163
Size:  49.9 KB

Name:  aaa.jpg
Views: 128
Size:  44.9 KB

Name:  aaaa.jpg
Views: 153
Size:  38.2 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 01-03-16 at 10:19 AM. Reason: reoriented/enhanced pics
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-03-16, 10:30 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,039
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

It's tough to mount a larger unit where there is a real estate shortage.
Just make sure the A/C coil is not behind it and try to mount the unit as level as possible.
 
  #3  
Old 01-03-16, 10:44 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Sounds like I should just have at it then. There's enough real estate to mount it if it weren't for the s-cleat joint there.
 
  #4  
Old 01-03-16, 05:11 PM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 3
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Follow up - went ahead and installed it, seems to be running just fine so far!
 
  #5  
Old 01-03-16, 05:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,039
Received 1,104 Votes on 1,024 Posts
Sounds like some good news.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: