Aprilaire 600 not getting any water

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-16-16, 12:35 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Aprilaire 600 not getting any water

Hi everyone,

As winter is here I turned on my humidifier the other day (don't know the terminology but this is a unit without a fan). However, there is no water reaching the water panel. I then checked the humidistat and it is getting ~24V when the furnace is running and there is ~24 volt going to the solenoid valve when the humidistat was set to a higher humidity. However, there was no audible "click" in the solenoid, only from the humidistat. There was also good water flow upstream of the solenoid. I thought this would be an easy fix based on previous posts and ordered another solenoid valve. However, I installed it today and there is no change...no water flowing and no audible noise from the valve when it should be engaged.

So what could be the problem; I installed a new cooling coil on the unit this summer and I initially thought that they perhaps did not "plug everything in" the way it was...but since the humidistat is getting power, that should not be the case..correct?? Could it be that I received a faulty valve. This was a OEM Gems Sensors A2012-S150 replacing a a2012-S118. According to the manufacturer these are compatible.

Thanks!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-16-16, 01:35 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,126
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
You have the wiring connected to the solenoid and you measure 24vac at the solenoid ?

Yes....the new valve is also 24vac.
 
  #3  
Old 01-16-16, 02:04 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I have been measuring the power in the wires feeding the solenoid, not on the actual solenoid. How would I do that?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 01-17-16, 10:44 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Also,

I was reading on an Aprilaire blog that the humidistat is continously powered " We have two digital humidifier controls, and there werenít any indicators as to which one you had. Both of them are looking for continuous 24v to power them and an intermittent 24v to tell them when your furnace is active.

Is this correct? I am not seeing any voltage on the humidistat unless the furnace is on. But regardless, if I am seeing voltage in the wires going to the solenoid it should not matter??
 
  #5  
Old 01-17-16, 11:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,126
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
An electronic humidistat (60, 62) is continuously powered. You didn't say what you have.

You have two wires going into solenoid. There should be two wirenutted connections there connecting your wiring to the humidifier. Don't just check the incoming wires for power. Check them connected to the humidifier. You need to check for 24vac with the solenoid connected.
 
  #6  
Old 01-17-16, 02:27 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Interesting, so when the solenoid is attached I am getting a zero volt reading.

The humidistat is model 884021BS
 
  #7  
Old 01-17-16, 03:06 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
And found another thread that mentioned shorting the wires at the humidistat...I did so and had water flowing. Sooo what does this mean???
 
  #8  
Old 01-17-16, 03:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,126
Received 1,113 Votes on 1,033 Posts
Ahhh.... that's why I needed you to check it with the solenoid connected.

The humidistat is bad. It's probably stuffed full of dirt and lint if it's a duct mounted model.
 
  #9  
Old 01-17-16, 03:11 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 16
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Awesome..thanks for the help. I guess I assumed if it is 24V in the wires that's what you got. Anyway, It is indeed mounted on the duct and I also realized that I had the ducts cleaned for the first time in a 100 years, that could have helped as well. Will order a replacement and check back in.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: