Calorex DH30 Dehumidifier fan only running

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-19-16, 05:41 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Calorex DH30 Dehumidifier fan only running

I bought a used Calorex of the net from a technician who bought it from a jobsite.

I brought it home and it worked fine for about two days. Afterwards just the fan would run constantly and the compressor would not start, nor would the coil frost up, nor hot air blow out.

I have read that this could be the relay/relay solder/circuit board.

Does anybody have any experience with this model of dehumidifier or know of any possible solutions?

Here is a link to a a description of the unit and a technical manual:
http://www.calorex.com/ee_pdf/Dehumidifiers_v5.pdf
avonsci.co.uk/shopimages/vaporexwallmount.pdf

This is my first post here, even though I read the forums frequently. Looking to be more active and share my knowledge in other areas of the forums.

Greetz
Shayne
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-19-16, 08:24 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

A dehumidifier is basically an air conditioner. The fan and compressor usually turn on at the same time. That unit may be different as it's wall mounted unit with heating options.

I am not able to access any technical information and as this is a primarily a U.S. based site.... I'm not sure if anyone else here will be familiar with that British built dehumidifier.

If you locate a wiring diagram then I could certainly help you further.
 
  #3  
Old 01-19-16, 08:45 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks for your response!

If you locate a wiring diagram then I could certainly help you further.
The wiring diagram should be on page 7 of the second link.

Would some pictures help? I can take some tomorrow when I am at the site.

I understand it might be hard to get help with a British model, but I figured that most units are somewhat similar in construction.
 
  #4  
Old 01-19-16, 11:07 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 59,179
Received 1,118 Votes on 1,038 Posts
When I made my last post I couldn't access that site. Now I have the schematic.
Do you have test meter.... ohms and volt meter ?

There are four different DH30 submodels. An exact model would be good.

There should be a CONT and CYCLE fan switch. When in the cycle mode does the fan turn on and off with the humidistat ?

I see a control relay in the schematic. I don't see anything in the diagram that would require solder. As a guess...... you've lost the refrigerant in your unit but well do some checking.
 
  #5  
Old 01-20-16, 01:55 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 7
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I do have a meter, what should I be checking?

I'm heading out today to try that switch you said, I'm pretty sure I've tried it in both positions already, but I'm going to try the humidistat as well to each extreme. I'll also get the sub-model while I'm there.

Thanks Pete.
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: